Childhood Cancer and Me (Part 4 - Is it Over?)

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

20180128_232721.jpg

Greetings Steemsters,

As I have done, and will continue to do. I will start by thanking everyone that took the time to read my story. It was not something I thought I'd ever write about, nor receive such kind words from everyone. This will be the last in the series, I will try and keep this one short as I know Part 3 was a little long.

February 1994 - Now that we were moving into the last course of chemotherapy, all the medical staff were lost for words. How and why did this child survive, all the other candidates had not made it through the trial. As this was a rare occurrence, a critical decision from my doctor and parents had to made, and with that, I had became a case study for future patients.

Now all this would have been ok, but for one thing that no one tells you. Is that as part of being a case study is, it involves more needles, would've been nice if someone had asked me, as I thought I was passed being used as a pin cushion.

March 1994 - With my hair growing back, and weight returning, the doctors visits had reduced from 5 days a week, to 3 days and now 1. The chemotherapy had run it's course and we were into what could only be described as good territory. Now this was also when Starlight Foundation had come into the picture, a wonderful team of people had reached out to my parents to give me a 'wish'.

April 1994 - My white cell count drops significantly, my platelet levels had crashed, what had just happened? was I relapsing? did they stop the treatment to early? In haste we returned to the hospital for more tests. While laying in my hospital bed, counting the glow in the dark stars on the roof, and listening to the clip clop of the nurses shoes on the hard vinyl floor, I wait. Next morning I'm woken by smiles and a look of relief on my parents face. All tests had come back negative. All I needed was a blood transfusion and I'd be right as rain.

Now one of the strangest things about having Leukemia is, that once you're passed the all the needles and pills there comes the time of the just simple physical check up. This is was a strange experience, but I have to write it about it. Part of the physical, is to check whether or not there is any signs of the cancer moving to different areas and forming as tumors. I was 8 years old and had a gentleman (my doctor) who was old enough to be my grandfather asses my testicles with a firm hand and a bit squeeze. The first time I had this happen, I had everything I was ever taught about stranger danger kick and in and I ran down the hall to be eventually tackled by my father and lead back in.

We've jumped forward a year as I was well on my way to recovery by this stage,

May 1995 - After a year of constant weekly check ups, and enough blood tests to make anyone fearful of ever getting one again. The news we thought we would never hear had be written in my chart, with a smile that could have lite up a room my doctor told us I was in remission.

Now I'm sitting here trying to think of how I will end this. I think the best way to do it, is to say thank you and by letting everyone know that I am healthy and fully recovered from that time in my life. It was a trying time for me, a test of courage and strength for my parents and my brother, but in the end I wouldn't trade places with anyone.

Peace.

@danjo1984 @originalworks

Thailand1.jpg

Sort:  

As requested I have voted for you! 🎁 To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

Mate what a tale, I don't think words could ever bring us back to the feelings and emotions of the time, but having seen a young family member live through it, and beat it, I have a bit of an understanding. Nice to see you've got the silk shirt out in the last photo, all the best mate.

Thanks @gio6 . That's just one of the many stories I have. I still havn't covered any #truecrimestories yet, so they'll be some wild tales (before I got my act together) to come :-D ... Cheers again mate.
PEACE.

This post has received a 4.93% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @danjo1984. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61039.43
ETH 2460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66