Scenes of nature that captivate the mind

IMG_5294.JPG

Why are some images so appealing to us that they actually seem to soothe the mind? I look at this picture of a sunset I took from busselton jetty recently and if I let it my mind is transported to a calm warm place. Really there are just photons hitting my retina in a particular pattern and hue but my imagination does the rest. The mind is an incredible beast but perhaps you could say also fickle in its moods and easily swayed.

Rambled musings... hope you like the image too :D

Sort:  

An interesting observation @cycling-goldfish I believe our emotions are triggered very much by what we see and then this in turn, causes our brain to activate memories of similar sights and what we felt at the time. They all combine to create a state of peace or tranquillity or any number of emotions according to what has been programed into our minds at some point. This is certainly a serene and beautiful scene. Have a great Sunday.

Glad you liked it @trudeehunter and thanks for the thoughtful reply, I think you nailed it!

My pleasure @cycling-goldfish 🌺

Right when I saw only your thumbnails I knew you are from Australia.
I almost want to eat the clouds in this picture :)))

I love the imagery :D

Yes i do like the image very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50