Day 35: 1200 mile walk from Cornwall to Caithness, UK

Tuesday, 15 June 2010

My route is more west than north now as I make my way to the start of the west highland way at Milngavie just to the north of Glasgow. There are no long distance paths to follow and I am linking up local rights of way and the quietest roads I can find to make my way. Today much of my route followed the River Tweed and a section of the Southern Upland Way and I am now camped in Peebles 24 miles to the west of my starting point in Melrose. I bought chips and battered sausage from the local chippy for supper, that ought to refuel me!

Tomorrow I will aim to reach Lanark and then the following day Glasgow city centre. It's 9pm and I have no embarrassment saying that I'm going to bed! Goodnight :-)

Daily stats:

Start - Melrose
Finish - Peebles
Mileage - 24 miles/39km
Feeling - Enjoying the beautiful scenery along the river tweed
Sleeping - Under canvas with a free pitch at Peebles campsite!

That's all folks ;-)

Day35_Circles.jpg
This photograph shows large ovoids cut into the vegetation as a work of art - when viewed from the viewing point they look like circles but they are actually about 10 times longer than they are wide!

Day35_lake.jpg
This lake was so calm and beautiful

This trek took place in 2010 before the wonderfulness of STEEM existed. I was trekking in aid of Naomi House Children's Hospice in Hampshire, England, and writing and posting the blog from my iPhone 3gs (so if you're wondering why the photo's aren't that good...) if you want to see the original blog it is here but I rather hope you choose to follow me instead. Thanks Steemians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63