#teamaustralia Youth Development Update: My Four Biggest Hurdles So Far and Some Thoughts on What I Could Do Better

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

untitledd.png


Over the past few weeks, I’ve learned it can be a bit of a difficult task to get your friends on Steemit, especially young people.

Here are five of the biggest problems I’ve run into trying to get my friends and classmates on Steemit.

1. Actually going and talking to people.

8969aa3606a4975d68abef9171b58093.png
source

Whether it’s just assuming they won’t be interested, or I’m sort of nervous telling someone about Steemit for whatever stupid reason, one thing I need to work on is actually going and telling others about it. I know the idea would appeal to some of the other students at my school, especially students that love art or music.

2. It’s too good to be true.

6Gvra.gif
source

I have stepped out to talk to a few people. But some of them stopped listening straight away. Because of how unique an opportunity Steemit is, they ‘know’ there’s going to be some sort of catch.

One mistake I may have made is talking up the future potential price of STEEM too much. If I talk about the money, it’s probably better to just talk about making a few extra bucks. At the very least I should be very selective to who I talk about the future price of STEEM to, depending on the mindset of the person.

3. They don’t understand crypto.

MEME2017-07-03-09-44-55.jpg

I’ve found most people don’t really understand the concept of STEEM, and I’m probably not the best person to try and explain it to them. Until they can understand crypto, Steemit may not sound as appealing. This is something I can influence, by learning more about crypto myself and how to talk about it.

4. They think it’s cool, but after the first couple posts they can’t be bothered.

Sisyphus-Image-01C.jpg
source

Persistence is a big part of Steemit. If you want to build a good following, you need to keep posting as much as possible and stay consistent. I myself have found it difficult to get out a good post every few days and haven’t had one for couple days in some cases. Especially if you don’t see Steemit from the perspective of someone like me, the uncertainty of it all may discourage others from persisting.

One of my friends said that they wouldn’t be fully committed, saying it was their personality. I admit I made heaps of excuses to my dad when he was trying to get me onto Steemit. One of them was that I wouldn’t know what to write about.

My advice to people has been to just do it. Ideas will come. Just start writing about whatever comes to your mind, and the more you do it, the better you’ll get and the more idea’s will come. That’s what I did (or tried to do), and I’ve been lucky enough to get over 250 followers in a little over a month, with a bunch of support on each post for which I’m very grateful.

manns.gif
source

It’s also about how you think about it. Most young people would think of Steemit as “work” when I explain it to them. So why is this work and Snapchat isn’t?

Obviously, many teenagers are just lazy, but currently the bar seems pretty high to be on Steemit. There’s a perception that you need to be able to write well or perform as a musician to be successful, which at the moment does seem to be true. With money involved, maybe you should have to work for it.

But what if we legitimized just posting photos like what we would post on Instagram or Snapchat? This could be the key to getting more young people onto Steemit.

How do you think we can get more young people on Steemit? Do you have any advice you can share?


If you enjoyed this post please follow me.

featured image source

Sort:  

Just do it man! You got nothing to lose.

True, I will :)

thanks for upvoting my painting - your a good guy and ahead of your time - i see we started around the same time and are both on 49 influence score -lets grow and hit the top as this network grows with us

No worries it was a great painting I'd love to see more. Cheers :)

Well said. I go back and forth linking my posts to friends on Facebook. I don't because I know at least half of them will think it's a scam and then give me a million reasons why crypto is shit. I tend to just tell people who I think/know would be interested.

Yeah unfortunately that's the reality with a lot of people. It seems though it won't be very long until you're proving your friends wrong! Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49