IT'S a SHARK! IT’S a SNAKE! NO, I’TS a MAGPIE! Who would’ve thought that out of all the animals in Australia I would fear a little BIRD ?!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Ever since I came to Australia each week I’ve been learning something new. Before I came here I was warned about moving to the home of some of the most dangerous creatures in the world: sharks, deadly spiders, venomous snakes, crocs, etc. So I prepared myself and family and we’ve been very alert, especially on trips. I just never realized that another thing I’d have to look out for was … a bird! I thought it might be interesting to share this little phenomenon that I’ve encountered here.

A while ago, as I was returning home after a nice run, I felt a big thump on my head, as if someone threw something at me! I live on a very quiet, dead end street, where usually there isn’t a soul outside, so I was sure I was alone. I turned around to see if I was mistaken, but not a soul around me. Suddenly, I heard loud chirps, as I looked up I noticed this black and white bird sitting on a tree branch staring and chirping, as if it were screaming at me. It was the famous Magpie I kept hearing about ever since I’ve arrived to Australia! I heard they could be aggressive but I’ve never had any unpleasant encounters with them…until *now*. I tried to give him that nasty eye look, as if trying to tell him “don’t you mess with me again, or else…!” (Not that I would do anything to him, as I couldn’t even hurt a fly!) I started walking calmly towards my house, minding my own business, when suddenly once again, he swooped down and hit me on the head! (Luckily I had a hat on, otherwise he would’ve probably scratched my face!) I felt as if I was in the famous Hitchcock movie The Birds” from 1963 (which I loved, by the way!). Now every time I try to go out for a run I get attacked at least twice by him (or them, not sure if it’s the same one since I’ve seen a few around)! So my point being, whoever hasn’t heard about it before (other than Australians, of course), it’s ***MAGPIE SEASON*** now in Australia! I started looking up and read a bit about Australian Magpies and how to avoid and keep safe around them at this time of year. Apparently, swinging my arms above my head (yea, looking foolish, I know) or running away are things that you should NOT do.

I gathered up a few facts and some safety tips I found interesting:

--- ***Did you know....*** The *Australian magpie* is a black and white medium-sized bird native to Australia and southern New Guinea. It has a black and white plumage, brown eyes and a white and black beak. These birds can live up to 30 years.
The magpies swoop humans and pets during their breeding season, which is around the beginning of spring (around September). This aggressive behavior has resulted in the magpie becoming a nuisance in certain areas in Australia.
[Magpie pic.source](https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiBvfSbk4TWAhXIlJQKHSBqAxQQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailytelegraph.com.au%2Fnewslocal%2Fcentral-coast%2Fmagpie-swooping-season-off-to-a-slow-start-on-central-coast%2Fnews-story%2Fcca8c5638d7aeb2f89d7b60a480ea5a7&psig=AFQjCNHwlgMWkCEAjTb5kDmBPGUGVoccgA&ust=1504360901120890)
We see them pretty much everywhere here! Especially in parks, where kids play. They like building their nests in areas with short grass and tall trees and are very territorial birds. They will swoop down and even peck and scratch their victims if they feel threatened and may cause skin/ eye injuries and sometimes chunks of flesh being removed through contact with claws or beak! (Hitchcock movie or not?!)
[Birds pic.source](http://www.thedailybeast.com/why-the-original-birds-is-superior-to-hitchcocks-version)
They usually attack within a 100-150m’ radius around the tree with their nest, called: their ‘defense zone’. The male magpies are usually the protectors of their nests and will react aggressively if they feel their chicks are threatened. The good news is that the magpie season usually lasts for about 6-8 weeks (until the young leave the nest). The majority of the attacks are targeted towards pedestrians or cyclists.
[pic. source](https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiGjsrynoXWAhUBF5QKHR_qBMIQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fgreatershepparton.com.au%2Fwhats-happening%2Fnews%2Fnews-article%2F!%2F456%2Fpost%2Fswooping-season-10-tips-for-avoiding-the-magpie-menace&psig=AFQjCNHiDFg9Foq-JyWqhnOdxXx5tmVzKA&ust=1504397150154594)
While most magpie attacks are mild, my husband, who works in the Emergency department as a physician, told me that someone was recently admitted after being poked and almost losing and eye by a swooping magpie!

How to avoid their attacks?

[Helmet eyes pic. source](https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiCgq2qmoXWAhVFJZQKHXLXAuMQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.backchina.com%2Fnews%2F2015%2F10%2F14%2F389381.html&psig=AFQjCNHiDFg9Foq-JyWqhnOdxXx5tmVzKA&ust=1504397150154594)
**On official government websites there are lists of what you can do, but I summed up some interesting ones:** * Watch the birds while walking away quickly – it’s probably less likely to be swooped if it knows you're watching! * If you are swooped once, to leave the area as quickly as possible but DO NOT run! * Wear a hat, carry an umbrella and wear glasses to protect your eyes/face. * Avoid ‘defense zones’ (110-150m of the nest) and try to change your route whenever possible. * Travel in groups (since they usually target individuals). * If you are cycling, it may help to get off your bike and walk through any magpie zones. * My favorite: Paint or stick eyes on the top of your helmet (apparently, magpies don’t like being watched:)) Magpies are very smart animals and can recognize and remember faces for years . Since they will swoop only when they do not know someone and think they will harm them, it might as well be worth trying to become friends with them. Apparently, once a magpie knew you and judged you as a good person, they will not see you as a threat and will do you no harm. BUT, if you are mean to a magpie, it will hold a grudge for a long time! ([source](http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-08-31/make-friends-with-magpies-to-avoid-swooping-expert-says/8856438) ) Hurting Magpies is actually a serious offence in Australia. Their aggressive swooping behavior may be very irritating and annoying but we should remember that they are parents and are doing their jobs to protect their kids, as would we. So instead of getting angry and aggressive at the magpie (which would only make it worse), we should just try to avoid and stick to the recommended safety tips for our safety until the seasons over (so just a few more weeks to go!)

To make a long story short, for the next 1-2 months- My family and I are definitely going to leave the house with hats and sunglasses on!

Hope you have a swoop-free season!

Hope you enjoyed reading

-Don’t forget to UPVOTE and FOLLOW-

@cooknbake

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post features in my latest Curation Article. @MrSquiggle - supporting the #TeamAustralia community and promoting creative content. Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @mrsquiggle to continue to support the #TeamAustralia community.

Wow! So happy to hear! Thank youuuu😁🤗💃🕺💃🕺

oh That's scary bird ... sis !.. U should always wear a hat ... ☺

Ha ha! I know:)) especially this time of year! I learned my lesson💪💃

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

A very interesting but terrifying article 😕
Beautiful bird this magpie but shame on him for attacking you 😠 bad move.
I had no idea there were birds to look out for in beautiful Australia.
I saw that movie birds and its not a pleasant one. Thank you for sharing this post, very interesting and I understand that you don't leave the house without protection 😉😆
Have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68436.55
ETH 3750.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66