You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dental Care in Australia

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

It's the primary reason that i don't have comprehensive health cover in Australia. It's a blatant rip-off and obviously introduced after the health insurance lobby donated to the political parties and this forced contribution was the reward. I'm glad you mentioned dental as i discovered many years ago that the dental coverage in all of the funds is woefully inadequate. It's better to go on a medical holiday in Thailand or somewhere, get better dental at 1/3 of the cost..

Sort:  

Thank you very much @cafelatte. I have lived in Germany the last 20 years, and before that i was in Austria for 10 years. Dental care has always been free for me. Now that I am 50 and living here in Australia, I was quite surprised. Not that I need dental attention myself, but a good friend of mine that I accompanied to the dentist. First, I find their equipment is by far outdated and cheap here, and the fees are just outrageous. The government needs to fix this issue ASAP. Australia has the 3rd highest rate of dental decay in the world. Come on! And most of those people don't have the money to go for treatment because they either have a somewhat poorer social background or they are not educated about the emotional and financial consequences down the road. We need this fixed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74