Dear Federal Government, Federal Court, Hollywood etc ... You win - I've signed up for Netflix

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

So after a long day grinding away yesterday, I thought I'd relax and get my hands on the next episode of Game Of Thrones which I assumed had aired over the weekend. I was soon met with two realizations, neither of which were very pleasant. The first was that season 7 of Game Of Thrones was already finished and was only 7 episodes long, this was bad enough in itself, but the second realization was even worse ...

Once I had resolved my self to the fact that there was no more GOT, I begrudgingly decided that I would just watch some funnies. I'd been meaning to watch more Always Sunny In Philadelphia for a while and I knew there was no more Rick and Morty yet, so that seemed like a good idea. I went to my favourite Pirate Bay proxy, ProxyDuck, and did a quick search for Always Sunny S04 (my time working at Telstra Directory Assistance taught me effective search keying if not much else) ... Error page.

I then went to proxybay to try some other mirrors, each time the home page would load, but go to search and I'd get an access denied error. The other night all of the pirate mirrors seemed to be down so I did a little research and went to another torrent site which seemed OK. I figured I'd try there again. Nope.

First I got a warning about an invalid security certificate and then, once I'd added an exception, this little beauty:

Ouch. I realized I was now probably on some watch list, but then reasoned that I'd probably already been on their watch-lists for a while so YOLO - I had my own watch-list to work on!

Alright so on to the next torrent site ... Nope. And the next? Nope. The next one? Nope. Rejected: the same SSL error followed by the same rejection message from the Federal Court of Australia, torrent site after torrent site.

I was definitely on a watch-list now, so I figured no harm persisting til I find one they haven't black listed. Finally got one after a few more tries, some poxy website, found season 4 of Always Sunny ... no seeds. At this point I said "fuck it" and signed up for Netflix.

You win Federal Government, Federal Court of Australia, Hollywood etc - I can't be bothered anymore. I submit. No more dissidence, you have crushed my spirit, from now on I shall be a well behaved consumer and "netflix n chill".

Sincerely,
Bulleth.


20% of the liquid rewards from this post will be split with @centerlink for the communal benefit of TeamAustralia
Team Aus footer by the amazing @bearone


This post was brought to you by @msp-creativebot

Sort:  

Torrenting is the only reason we were permitted Netflix.

Download betternet, free proxy service.

Yes, it could be work

You can always search for a title of something followed by "torrent". Like Always Sunny Season 3 Episode 4 Torrent". I realize the need to be site specific as some are sketchy but you can still find just about whatever you need without your favorite torrent site access. Also, you can just watch anything, any season any episode by using google and watching directly from a page. Torrents are cool because you can choose what you download but webplayers are just as useful, no download needed. Don't let them win. They only win once you give up.

I tried so many sites, they seem to have blocked about 90% of them and they probably actively blocking others

Have you tried a proxy and/or VPN?

I just signed up for it in Canada this month. Here they send you endless copyright letters but never actually do anything.

I have an extra invite to torrentday if you want it?
There is also streaming sites if you just want to watch without downloading.

upvoted and followed. Good job. Thanks for sharing

Hey man, new to steemit and your blog. Glad I found you (and will be participating in your BUILDTEAM bidding soon...)...

Same feels on Game of Thrones! What the heck??..

The funnies I was looking for haven't been coming either (Steven Universe).

And I didn't see much on Netflix that I liked, but OA and Stranger Things were definitely worth a view.

(Kickass footer, BTW...)

UPvoted and subbed. Thanks for the great blog.

Never give up. Where there is a will there is a way.

thanks for making this and have a good day

Get a VPN @bulleth. Then you can DL whatever the fuck you want and they can't do anything about it or know who you are.

Yeah that would probably get me access, but they have been logging your browsing history for at least a year now so they can still fuck you VPN or not. I started downloading shit way back when when I actually couldn't afford to buy all the music and movies I wanted to listen to/watch. These days 10 bucks for Netflix and 5 bucks for spotify and you're sorted. Turned to a habit from a necessity :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51