Purpose and Passion: Make it Your Business

In the startup world, one of the first things investors will often look for is passion. They want the team to have a connection to the problem. There is a good reason they look for it too – and it’s because there is power in passion. Or more specifically, if someone is passionate about what they are fighting for – they will fight hard.

I’m not a religious person, but I’ve always liked the message in the serenity prayer. It’s about having:

The courage to change the things that can be changed,
The serenity to accept the things that can’t,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

For me that means I put my emotional energy into the places I feel I can make a difference in life. If it seems wise, I aim to have the courage to put my whole heart and soul into making a big difference.

I am a carer. I have cared for people in one job, and for the land in another. It often frustrates me though, when I am told I care too much. If I care about something a lot, it’s because it’s really important, or because I believe I can make a difference (or a bit of both). Either way, it is up to each individual to decide how much they care. When the world has problems, and is ready for solutions, it is a great time to care.

Why am I writing this?

To be honest I am writing this because I feel like I should. It might sound corny, but I guess I am hoping that at least one person might read it and be motivated to solve some problems, or chase their dream. We are at an exciting point in history right now. Decentralisation can provide massive opportunities for change. If you are on Steemit now you probably already know that. So if you are reading this, think about it. What is your passion? What difference do you want to make?

How: Making your passion your business

I’m not saying quit your job and register a company (yet). I’m saying if you are passionate about something, don’t assume it’s none of your business. Learn about it. Be curious. Be nosy. Learn, learn and learn some more. Your understanding of a topic, and asking the right people the right questions, will stand out. Sooner or later you might even realise you know more than you think you do. You might even find yourself in a good position to make some changes.

Power Vs Control

Passion might give you power, but it won’t give you control. I’ve found there is an interesting balance in controlling my level of passion, and judging when to let go of control.

In my experience, as powerful as your passion might be, it can also make you pretty vulnerable at times. If you are putting your whole heart and soul into something, there are bound to be times when everything overwhelms you. It can be a very physical feeling that sweeps over you, and you may not have much control over that. It can take a lot out of you, but it will probably also motivate you to get back up and keep going.

If you are heavily invested in your passion, then it might be wise to measure when and what you put into.

… So go for it - Ground yourself in your passion, and make it your business to make a difference!

I’d love to hear from you in the comments below (yes you!)

Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

#motivation #business #startup #life #philosophy #blockchain #investing

Sort:  

What are your thoughts on enforcing decentralized ledgers to companies, banks,governments & corporations? Like if we were to create true transparency between nations and put justice back into the hands of the many, true global democracy.

Hi @dizzyjay,
That's a really good question... I had never really thought much about enforcing decentralised ledgers, but I really hope they are 'the norm' in the future. I think that there will come a time when the public will demand that level of transparency. By then, the digital infrastructure should be ready to enable it too. Thanks so much for commenting. What are your thoughts?

I also think that’s going to be the route aswell. Once adoption takes hold it’s kind of the only logical solution to the economic disaster the oil, pharmaceutical, food and bank industry has yielded out to our little globe. Giving geniuses a way to capitalize on their smarts without needing to shake hands and pay a line up of bureaucrats and universities along the way.

I'm following you @dizzyjay, I like that you engage in coversation :)

Thanks, I’m currently only on steemit on my iPhone right now and I’m fairly new, but I intend to get a decent computer again and really just jump in and see where this place can take me perspectively and even the little financial gains might be pretty cool, but I love Blockchain i’m A late adopter but I’ve dedicated atleast 150 hours in the last 6 months to reading white papers trying to get smarter and recapture the entrepreneur and dreamer the grind of poverty has stolen from my life these last couple years. Optimism is key!

Wow! Sounds like you have read a lot of white papers!

In the crypto world I feel like a latecomer too, but trust me, we are both still early adopters! There are a lot of BIG organisations out there just starting to realise they need to understand blockchain.

Poverty is tough, but keep grinding away, keep learning, and pace yourself. Conserve your energy where you can and eventually you will spot an opportunity.

Can’t wait to see more posts and have lovely discussions. I don’t worry about now much because I do believe in this that much too. I have a 1 year old son and another on the way, tonnes of motivation driving this guy hahah have a great one!

Awesome! Comments like yours are better payment than sbd - take it easy 😊

Great post. Very wise indeed!

Thanks so much for your support @buggedout - you're a legend!

I feel like passion is also a sweet spot, it's like we have an opportunity to realise something we just know that all of us will benefit from - which is the point of anything useful, so that's the most important aim, I feel, like asking the question - how is this going to be a step in the right direction for the better for all? Imagine if everything we did inched towards that aim and we all did it, pretty amazing possibilities.

Definitely amazing possibilities. I think passion and purpose are intertwined. There is so much value in understanding the purpose of anything you do. Either as an individual, or as part of a team. Not just in business but in life. If we understand the why then the how makes more sense. ... Like going on a diet. Are you doing it to lose weight or to be healthy? What does healthy really mean? If you can answer all that then you are more likely to set appropriate goals and succeed.

That 6 i's process I linked to in your post puts purpose at the centre of the process - that's what makes me really like that particular methodology.

Thanks for the resteem too!

Mastering oneself is the hardest.

you're probably right @angusg - it can't hurt to try though 😊 ...shoot for the stars and you might just get to the moon

Making your passion your business. There are some factor that might hinder most people from having that passion to their. Let me just give some factor as example: age, financial assistance, education. I will only talk about age factor. I will like to use the word zeal and talent. If you have both or one of those (zeal and talent) qualities you can have passion for your business. Let talk about the age factor if you have the zeal and talent to being a professional footballer, but the opportunities does not come at the right time. You might not be able to play football in the big stage because your age will have being outgrown. You can't expect a footballer be starting his professional career at 30. That means his passion for football won't be for business anymore because the opportunity doesn't arise at the right time. There are so many factor affecting the passion for business.

thanks for your comment @luciano7e ... I guess what I meant is find something you care about, and learn about it - that way you might be able to make a positive impact on the things you care about. In the case of football and age, this could mean coaching kids rather than being a professional player.

Thanks for giving me more understanding about it@bec-on-the -block.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buggedout from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

You got a 1.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bec-on-the-block!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65