Last CHILLIES for the season. Fermenting for gut health.

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

So I was given the heads up that the frosty mornings were coming and the chillies in Perth's farms would be ruined. The end of the chilli season is upon us. But thanks my friends at Fruit Corner, they gave me access to pick chillies one evening after work. So i did.
As in a previous post, we like to ferment chillies to preserve them for long periods. This also helps with our gut health as it is full of probiotics.
So here is the process.
_DSC6085.jpg
Heaps of chillies washed and headed.
_DSC6086.jpg
Put in the processor to chop.
_DSC6087.jpg
This is what they look like chopped.
_DSC6094.jpg
Place in sterilized jars.
_DSC6096.jpg
Fill with salt brine 2-3%. Final product. Leave in pantry for a week or so. May bubble so have a plate under the jars. Then refrigerate.

Sort:  

Wow, looks good I love chilies!! I will try out one day. Thanks for sharing 100% upvoted @chanthasam

Thanks heaps.

Great post great colours 👍

Thanks buddy.

Wonderful blog. Upvoted and resteemed

Thanks very much.

Wow! That's a lot of chilies... I can feel the burn from here! :)
Reminds me - I have some dried chilies to post...

Yep heaps of chillies. Wanted them to last for the rest of the year.

Have you tried green chilies with vinegar and a little sugar? We have that served with some noodles here! :)

Hi @ackhoo . Sometimes we get Green chillies. It depends on what was ripe when i picked them at the time. I mostly do fermented stuff for the probiotic and gut health benefits. Need to get a bit healthier. Thanks for the comment.

Wow that's a lot of chilli, following from a fellow Aussies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60