You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Western world Sleepwalking into a Totalitarian Nightmare.

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

I see the problem, not only here in Australia, but across the so-called 'free world' is the left-right paradigm itself. Politicians of all persuasions know this. A politician on the left can therefore rely on at least half the voting public to support them in all their ideas and political decisions (no matter how crazy or detrimental) and to forgive them for any sins they may commit (either personally, in business or in power). Likewise, a politician on the right can expect the same leniency from those who support their side. When an otherwise normal, rational person identifies with a particular side of the left-right political spectrum, they will make irrational judgements based on supporting their team. "Gotta support the team man". I have witnessed this so many times. In fact, I have been guilty of it myself for most of my adult life ... until I came to realise that in a so-called democracy, you get to pick your team, but you must play the game.

If I go to my local MP for whom I voted, and request that we stop bombing people in Iraq and Syria, or that we need to defend our privacy and rights (what remain of them), or that parents should have the right to choose whether they vaccinate their children, what will be achieved?

Nothing.

Does my vote therefore count?

Does that MP deserve my endorsement and validation by my ticking a box next to their name on a ballott paper?

No.

Sorry for the rant, but I am completely disillusioned with our political process. A choice between tweedle dum and tweedle dee is no choice at all.

Peace.

Sort:  

I can be rational about politics. I see that there are unseen forces feeding the polarity. Divide and conquer. It even sets the sexes against each other, as if there should be sides in something that works best in unity. I am not cynical about politics. Imagine living in a country where you couldn't vote at all? Or you were downtrodden by foreign rulers, and denied basic rights? I champion democracy, even if it is imperfect. I support unions because without them there'd be no 8 hour day, or five day working week, four weeks annual leave, or sick pay, etc. Great discussion :) Happy Steeming... what I'd really like is the replacement of Centrelink with a UBI....and get rid of one layer of Government at the same time, or streamline it....with blockchain technology, it could be done. Health and Education could go to the Feds; then State Governments and Local Governments could be amalgamated, somewhat?? With a population of ONLY 24 million, do we need five States and two Territories? Could be all one. Then the savings get churned into the UBI :))

I guess I was making assumptions, but it's what I've generally noticed, including in myself. Yes, the divide and conquer strategy is being used and they are ramping it up. It's not easy having a rational discussion nowadays (especially on social media like FB and Twitter which is why I'm dropping out of those platforms (and the censorship)). And the mainstream media is stocking the fires like never before.

I've been following the war in Syria very closely over the past few years and have listened to countless hours of conversations and testimony from real Syrians, both in Syria and those living abroad. That war was clearly instigated, funded and clandestinely fought by some of our leading democratic states, namely the US, UK, France, Canada (initially) and Australia has also tagged along for the ride (the RAAF was involved in bombing and killing over 80 SAA soldiers, allowing ISIS to make a counter offensive in Deir Ezzor).

The Syrian people were, according to the propaganda of these democratic governments, being downtrodden by their evil, unelected leader, Bashar Al Assad. Were there civil rights abuses in Syria? Yes, but no more than in other acceptable regimes like KSA, Bahrain, Kuwait, and the US itself. Of all the Syrians I have read and listened to over the years, all support their leader (despite having many gripes as we do with our governments). The country, despite years of war, still provides free healthcare, free education, including free university, and housing and full rights for hundreds of thousands of Palastinian refugees. I guess what I'm saying here is that democracy does not work equally well in all countries. I've heard various academics and commentators from the Middle East who insist that western notions of democracy will simply not work in some countries, particularly those where tribal and family ties are still very much honoured.

But, when Syria did hold elections for president and the make up of the government (elections that were deemed free and fair by the UN, and, despite being in the middle of a war, had the same voter turnout that got Trudeau elected in Canada), the western democracies (and news media) completely ignored the results (ie the will of the people).

I definitely agree with you that we have too many layers of government in Australia. I see small government, on a more local level as the best solution, and more democratic option. Of course, there is no easy solution. In another post, I stated that I see democracy is being set up to fail in the near future (think Trump, Brexit), and that we will eventually be ushered into a new technocratic, global government. This has been planned for a long time, the only way I see to defeat that, is greater decentralisation.

Apologies for the longwinded response :-)

Cheers

No apologies necessary. I enjoyed reading your post. I deplore the demonising of refugees in Australia. It is hypocritical, to say the least, especially when we are bombing Syria, as you point out. I believe in democracy, but sure, it's not easily applied, or workable, in some countries. I was speaking from a purely western view. I wasn't saying it should be imposed or universally applied. I was merely expressing my support for democracy here, in Australia, and stating that it can't be taken for granted. I grew up in Ireland, where we, as a nation, were ruled by a foreign ruler for centuries. It's much more congenial to have one's freedom. It can't be overlooked how precious it is, or how hard-fought it may have been to secure. I am grateful to wake up in a country of blue skies, sunshine and prosperity. Happy Steeming :)

Yeah, I should be grateful, I know. I really have nothing to complain about, but I've just become so disillusioned with our governments (western governments) over the way they have destroyed countries like Iraq, Syria, Libya and now Yemen.

I don't know what the answer is, but I just don't think it's what we have now. Increasing government secrecy, increasing forfeiture of our civil rights, increasing propaganda, increasing surveillance all because of the so-called "terror threat". A threat created by western governments themselves going back to the British creating the Muslim Brotherhood in the 1930s, and later the CIA creating the Afghan mujihideen which would later morph into Al qaeda and ISIS.
I am optimistic in that I believe more and more people are seeing through the lies that are being fed to us on a daily basis. Change is coming, I hope it will be for the better. I think it eventually will. That's why Im here on Steemit.
Peace.

You are feeling global responsibility. You need more Zen :-) Sometimes people in war-torn countries are having more love than people who think they are missing out and only suffering :-) Can be lonely in Western World. Yes, I understand about the CIA creating future enemies. It could make a person cynical. Eyes wide open. I often think we live in a police state here in Australia, and our Government is becoming the enemy of its people :-) but that thought doesn't make me feel very happy. Remember double demerit points at their maximum a few years ago? The NRMA and RACQ surveyed its members and lobbied Governments to reduce the number of demerit points each offence carried. It's a simple way to see that, the more cameras installed, the more offenders that are caught; just as, the more laws that are introduced, the more normally law-abiding citizens become law-breakers. Simple. Scary. Be vigilant. Yes, we need to protect our rights.

LOL. I do need more zen. That's why I'm chilling out watching Paul Kelly live at the Opera House ;-)

Jelly :-) Enjoy..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36