Gold Coast 600 - The Students at the Track Initiative

in #teaching7 years ago (edited)


8627F17F-DD1D-452C-B2C5-A9EA8F0A77CD.jpeg

Annually, I have the privilege of taking a groups of kids trackside to the GC600 Supercars. This is an annual car race held on the streets of the Gold Coast, Australia. It consists of two races over 2 day, each at 300km in length each.

The Supercars are V8 powerhouses that are based on production cars from Ford, Holden and Nissan. Next year will see the introduction of V6 Turbocharged engines too.

Friday at the Gold Coast circuit sees the Supercars hit the track for their first practice.

2933604D-5B17-4C5B-83B4-50CDEE606757.jpeg
Source

The Carrera Cup contains the Porsche racers and there is also the ‘Aussie Cars’ (smaller versions of the Supercars that are cheaper to race) and the V8 utes.

3F805452-CDE5-459A-9523-4C2D37FEBE29.jpeg
Source

We take students to the track to immerse them in the world of tourism, and give them a chance to see a huge show come to tow and the spectacular and hype that comes with it. Tickets are free through the ‘Students on the track’ initiative and some lucky volunteer parents come along as well.

Other entertainment is also available including the stunt bike riding from the Flair team.

5C652368-4E18-4CDE-8405-BD75EFFEB9C9.jpeg

And a flyover from a RAAF Hawk 127 lead-in fighter jet.... An awesome sight.

43A782A1-123E-4483-9B16-7766A4D6372E.jpeg

When the Supercars show comes to town then the area around the track shuts down. It is always a great day and one I am glad I can allow students to experience.



scooter77 footer ta - bearone.png

Upgoat footer.png
Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the footers :)

Sort:  

I really enjoyed the day at the track that we did when I was in school. That was to the Adelaide F1 on one of the practice days. Was great to see the different support races, but especially great for me to see the F1 cars going around for the first time.

I made it a few more times as an adult (and paying to go), but still haven't made it for race day to any of the events. Timing, cost, and just not realising it's on until the weekend is already here have all led to not getting to the track.

Hopefully I'll make it to a race sometime.

awesome, I haven't been for 2 years. Unfortunately I will be at Phillip island for the moto races this year might make it again next year!. Cheers have a great time.

Great! Fantastic

Unfortunately I didnt get tickets this year. Have a great weekend mate.

You in the GC @scooter77 - I live there, I'm definitely going :D

Are you a teacher or some sort of undercover covert plant to creat fun and happiness in the lives of these children?

I wish I had opportunities like this when I was going to school, great work.

Damn, I went to the wrong school! We never did cool stuff like this.

I love racing.your post are so amzing i like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86