The Required Resume Self Portrait in South Korea: A Quick Means of Rejection or the Most Advantageous Aspect of a CV?

in #teaching7 years ago

In South Korea, a job application is not complete and proper without a self portrait attached to it. As the world is waking up, there is increasing public dissent from nationals, foreigners, and President Moon himself, about the hiring discrimination that this practice can exacerbate.

I don't personally have a problem with the idea of attaching my photo to my resume, because there are two ways to view a person's self portrait: You can principally see their physical attributes with your 3D physical eyes, or you can See their energetic, auric attributes with your 5D Third Eye. You can read the qualifications of a person's cosmetic surgeon in the shape of their nose, or you can apprehend the nature of their Presence in the shift that you feel inside yourself upon viewing their picture.

Rejection is actually a mutual process, as opposed to a hostile action inflicted upon us by someone outside of our control. Rejection is neither negative nor positive. It is the bilateral acknowledgment of when two frequencies align elsewhere. We do not need nor want our frequency to match every single other vibration out there. To force a match is to prostitute ourselves. Rejection is our protective guardian against frequencies discordant with our own. Rejection is a universal act of essence preservation. Rejection is to be to honored and appreciated.

The culmination of my resume portrait was intricately calculated. It was engineered to mutually reject any employer who is not able to Read with their Third Eye. There is literacy and there is Literacy. It is of vital importance to me that any organization to whom I grant my time and energy match my own level of pineal cultivation.

The picture attached to my resume was not originally a photo. It is a screenshot ripped from a video I took of myself while I was ruminating on moments that bring me ecstatic joy in the classroom. I was specifically thinking about all the ways I role play for my students with Glow.

"Glow" is a dinosaur doll. She is named after my late Aunt Gloria, who is called by the same name up in the realms of spirit. Glow has actually been part of my inner world since I was six, when I would play out "episodes" with my crocodile stuffed animals. She is an incarnation of Die the Crocodile. Glow is petty, vain and indulgent. She is prone to prolonged, glass-shattering spells of "irate" hollering and (respectfully beeped out) bouts of effervescent swearing. She is always pushing people's buttons to the point where even the most viscous, apathetic students eventually burst forth with an impassioned response to her. She's is our collective classroom alter-ego. She surmounts the limits of typical teacher-student communication. She and the other dinosaur dolls are responsible for 90% of the laughter that takes place in my classroom. She says everything that we can't say so that nothing is left unsaid. She is the hub of our higher connection.

To "Be" Glow is to be myself in my most natural state. Every time I think of Glow, my students and myself together, I know that whatever expression that is on my face is coming from my soul. This is the precise moment that I wanted to capture in my resume photo.

Even the most professionally produced photographs in the world are only as good as how unforced the subject's presentation of themselves is. I've had a professional photographer spend an hour shooting me in various fixed, tightly laced poses and the only shots that came out remotely decent were the ones taken in the first five seconds of the entire 60 minutes because my static endurance is comparable to the lifespan of a fruit fly. Not to be confused with dance photoshoots, head shots are clearly not my forte.

Instead, I filmed myself reacting to my fondest memories of teaching. Like an archer aiming at a target, I took about 10 screen shots of the footage. Like a trader reads charts and pinpoints the exact moment where a stock price peaks, I selected the screen shot that depicted the split second where I was the most engaged, my aura the most lucid, my expression the most authentic.

Of course, the photo quality is crap because I used my phone camera, but even that was a tactical choice. Energetic strength and auric purity are not bound by technical constraints like camera quality. In this way I am further emphasizing the order of my priorities.

Like most females raised beneath the umbrella of the establishment, I was groomed to primp, paint and polish my way to success in all my endeavors. Paradoxically, it is Now that my upbringing is revealing its true application. I was raised on this one particular foundation specifically so I could deconstruct it completely and create a blueprint so that others might also be granted clemency to disengage from the matrix.

Irony is divinity revealing itself on earth. I didn't choose Gangnam, but Gangnam chose me. Gangnam is quite possibly the world mecca for the retention of the very foundation that I am here to unravel. Yet again and again, I find that my presence is not only tolerated when I defy this establishment, but increasingly celebrated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47