a lil bit of rain

in #teaching5 years ago

E9EBEB19-ED01-40B7-BF4A-B299EB795295.jpeg

Los Angeles looks crisp and clean. The colors of flowers pop now that the rain has washed the dust and dirt away. My world looks lush though it is still cold for California. I’m wearing boots and driving gloves. Sometimes, I can feel the heater in my VW. But only sometimes.

Does this shot look better brighter? It’s looks warmer too!

32165B52-BDFB-468A-A114-AB692F594B1B.jpeg

The extended cold season has me feeling slow. I’m constantly reminding myself what day it is. Today is Sunday. Sunday. Mustn’t forget to go to dance class. It’s March. What? A quarter of the year has passed? It feels like we’ve stalled into winter. We usually have a couple of heat waves by now. I can’t remember the last time I took the convertible top down. It’s sometimes sunny and rainy at the same time! People walk by bundled up wearing coats AND flip flops. It is a confusing time for everyone.

I remind myself to stay the course.

40CA071C-FBCD-4C65-846E-6BE7742ACC9F.jpeg

And teach my students to stay the course.

One had an insistent kitty during his lesson this past week. He kept his concentration and would gently brush Muffin to move aside between notes. My student smiled, enjoying the innocent distraction, and played on; regaining control of the piece. Muffin eventually took to sitting on my coat.

S: “Miss JNET, what’s the hardest piece you’ve taught a student?”

JNET: “The piece you’re working on. It is an accuracy and endurance piece and rich with emotion. It’s easy to get caught up with the technique side and get lost in the speed and be a machine but I hear you put some honest thought and emotion with your phrasing. I’m on the edge of my seat. It’s exciting to listen. Even when you make mistakes, I can hear that you’ve not lost your focus, you redeem yourself within a beat and press on. When some people make mistakes, they get hijacked by that moment and drop everything. I hear you acknowledge and move on. It’s going to be gorgeous after you smooth out the rough spots.”

My student is strong. I saw that he was wrestling with himself more than usual in his playing. I later learned that his dad’s car was stolen earlier that day and he lost a well loved guitar that was stowed in the back. He hadn’t mentioned a word during piano. He had dove into the lesson.

Despite, having his day darkened by the theft of his dad’s car and his guitar. He played with focus and unlimited forgiveness toward his cat and himself.

Rain happens... Stay the course....

JNET

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Yeah, I hear that it was cold there not long ago. My mom said it snowed in Tucson, and it never snows there.

It's funny how cats never seem to want attention until you need to focus it elsewhere.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58