I Taught a Good Acting Class Yesterday

in #teaching7 years ago

I think I'm very privileged to be able to do something I love (teaching), while "waiting" as it were to do something else I love (acting). I've been a paid actor for 21 years and counting. And in the last ten or so, I've also been blessed to be an acting teacher.

01 CRWOG.jpg

In the last few years, I've really honed my craft as both the teacher and the actor. The former has actually tremendously helped the latter. I glean many insights into the process from watching the students I have the honor to teach. As I observe their growth and learning, I grow and learn too, about my humanity as well as theirs.

I think it's a blessing to be in this position where I get to make a difference in their evolution as performers in a very difficult industry. The biggest tip I can give any actor at any level is to be in the moment. Because that works everywhere, in the craft and in life. The work is clearing away all the things that get in the way of doing just that.

For more info about who I am and what I do, visit my personal website www.henryjmah.com.

Warm-Hug-With-You-2.gif

Warm HUGS!

Sort:  

felicidades, gracias por compartir!

Thank you @rusinho027 for your comment :)

It's been said before, and I very much believe in the saying: If you really want to learn something, teach it!

I was tutoring a fellow in engineering maths and I can tell you that in doing so, I learned the subject better than he did. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around what a second moment of force was and how to apply it, but it became clear to me when I was forced to explain it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57