Learn to move to learn

in #teaching7 years ago

Learning
"Learning" (CC BY-SA 2.0) by CollegeDegrees360

Thinking back to school, do you also have memories of boring lessons where you could hardly stay awake, and just wished for the clock to move faster and release your from the boredom. Well, I do, and I hated it. How can we learn anything when we are bored out of our skulls?

Sorry. We can't.

That is the Old School way of teaching (no pun intended), also known as "talk n' chalk" - a teacher just talking and chalking on the board in front of half sleeping students. Blablablablablablablah... Yawn!

Well I'm here to tell you, that way of teaching is simply wrong! It is inefficient and a waste of time. No wonder we need some 15 years just to make kids able to handle simple everyday life!

Stimulation is the key!!

The New School of teaching is based on stimulation. Stimulating the brain makes it much more prone to remember and it all has to do with what is called the Brain Derived Neurotrophic Factor.
Brain-derived neurotrophic factor[1], also known as BDNF, is a protein generated in the brain. BDNF has many functions. It's helping to support the survival of existing neurons, and encourage the growth and differentiation of new neurons and synapses and is important for long-term memory. In other words, it makes you smarter. The more BDNF you can generate in your brain, the better you will be able to thing, learn and remember.
"Brain power" by Allan Ajifo "Brain power" by Allan Ajifo

How do we generate BDNF then?

Exercise![2] One of the most significant effects of exercise on the brain is the increased synthesis and expression of BDNF. Certain types of physical exercise have been shown to threefold increase BDNF synthesis in the human brain. If you exercise, you actually create new brain cells and improve your cognitive function, persistently. Some of these long-term effects include:

  • Increased neuron growth
  • Increased neurological activity
  • Improved stress coping
  • Enhanced cognitive control of behavior
  • Improvements in cognitive control
  • Improved mood
  • Improved declarative, spatial, and working memory
  • Improved attentional control

Exercise improve academic performance in children and college students, improve adult productivity, preserve cognitive function in old age, prevent or treat certain neurological disorders, and improve overall quality of life.

Other benefits from moving

Apart from literally dosing our brains with smart-drugs, moving stimulates the nervous system, gets blood pumping, gets oxygen into our brains, activates our muscle memory and give us better health.

We must reform our classrooms! No more tables and chairs, no more sitting down - sitting down tells your body it's time to sleep.

Instead students should stand and move as much as possible while studying. Perhaps only having stand-up desks for cooperative tasks.

The teacher is only faced with the task of harnessing the energy of the students and channeling it into creative and constructive ways. There are many techniques for doing this, and I will discuss several of them. When used a few times these techniques become second nature, and the teacher will be rewarded with students learning at least three times as well as before.
CC USAG- Humphreys Movement, activity and fun improves learning. CC USAG- Humphreys Movement, activity and fun improves learning.

References

[1]: Brain-derived neurotrophic factor
[2]: Neurobiological effects of physical exercise
Original post

Sort:  

Apparently, and I'm no expert, besides learning other languages or musical instruments, one of the best things for a young mind to learn is - juggling. Not only is it hand-eye coordination but it also develops skills like timing, physics, prediction, adaptation, etc, etc, etc. I don't recall exactly but I think it's good for any age, including the elderly and infirm minds. From what I've heard, it's best to start with slow-falling tissues or handkerchiefs before you advance to beanbags, cats, or chainsaws.

I don't know how to juggle, I have no stake in juggling stocks, nor do people call me a clown (to my face), and yet here I am, promoting juggling. I do, however, know how to ride a unicycle (not well) - but that's a whole other story. I regret starting this comment because now, with this length, it looks like I'm a juggle head. I promise I'm not. At least, not that I know of. I just saw a documentary on the mind a year or few ago.

Yes, juggling is really good for memory and learning. In fact it is one of the methods I use in my classes and that people can use at home practicing for exams, lectures, etc.
When I teach juggling in class, I start with lightweight scarves and work my way to beanbag or balls.
I have been a juggler since I was a kid.
I even read that the Devil does not accept jugglers in hell, so apparently the benefits are numerous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73