Greetings Steemit...Can we talk?

in #teacherlife6 years ago (edited)

Hello All! Greetings to you from a peaceful place in my spirit.

My name is TuMisha Alao and I am an avid lifer. I believe in trying new things and Steemit seems like the perfect platform to begin my journey as a published author. I have talked about writing more than I have written. I have been scared for so long to awaken myself to my true destiny and so I have finally decided to ¨look fear in the face and laugh!” That is my favorite line from the movie Secretariat.

I am a High School English teacher and have been for the past eighteen years. So, you see I am around the written word on a consistent basis. I use the fact that I teach English as an excuse to not compose this great work in my head...simply because I am constantly assisting others with shaping their words into logical and thought provoking responses to other peopleś works. But, today is a new opportunity for me to strut my stuff and put my schtick on display.

All of these years, I have avoided sharing my natural knack for word play because of the vulnerability attached to someone else reading what I have written and not feeling awed by my creation. I fashion myself as a Shakespeare understudy. I obviously do not possess the same style as he or she (his being is up for question) but I do share his passion for wordsmithing. He was the best in my purview and I challenge myself to become as dedicated to my craft as he.

I am a mother of a fourteen year old son, that is also an artist. He is in a visual arts program at his middle school. I need to set the example for him to seek out his highest potential by recognizing his God given talent and nurturing it in every way. Currently, he wants to be a fireman. He says they have great benefits and make $22,000 a year. I don't discourage his choice of occupation for no other reason than it is an honorable occupation, just like teaching. Also, I know his ideas about what he wants to do with his life will change many times over. So, when he asserts his desire to put out fires, I don't put out his.

Besides being a teacher, I am a former dancer, in the classical sense. I did however, at one time (in college) contemplate taking to the pole, but my lovely mother quietly advised me that stripping might not have very good long-standing consequences. At the time, I wanted to be a lawyer and she felt that line of work may come back to haunt my legal pursuits. I do often wonder if I would have made that $1,000 a day that was promised in that ad at the back of my college newsletter in the summer employment section. Hmmm! For me and I can safely say for many others, college was one of the most debaucherous times in my life and I enjoyed every minute of it. Alas, I did leave and went on to stay in school after all. My graduation date is the year 2030. I still have the proverbial twelve years left of school.

This is just a bit of background and from this point forward, I will share the foreground with you. Ciao for now!
IMG_1954.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @safire-tea! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

A great chance to see you more often...welcome to Steemit, Misha!

Thanks! You know it takes me forever to do something, now I'm like Puffy..."can't stop, won't stop!"

Welcome to the family!

Thanks chica!

Welcome! I see Arlo put the plug in your ear :)

He had been trying to get me on. I wrote the intro about 5months ago. You know me...the great procrastinator.

See I even upvote comments chick. I'm only one person you know!!!

Awaken. Be woke and write! I look forward to reading what you share!

I just shared an old poem I wrote for my students. Take a look

Welcome to Steemit Misha!!!

The sock puppet has spoken!!!

My Boo!

You finally got on big sis!! Yea!!!

I must remember to thank you in my acceptance speech!! Just kidding. Thanks LilBig!

you're most welcome Alao, your introductory post is wow! . with what i've read so far on this post you'll sure make an excellent writer. i love too write too but just like you, i haven't really put something together for the publishers you can check up my link for a few of my post and i'll like to be your number follower

Very nice feedback! Thank you...stay tuned.

This post has received a 4.10 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @alao.

Thank you. I know not what this means but I will learn.

I know I'm late to the party but I'm here! welcome--and I expect lots of wonderful blogs from you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55