The Tea Fanatic: 1. Peppermint tea

in #tea6 years ago

152053479.jpg

Welcome to my first ever series on Steemit! Obviously I wanted my first series to be about something I am absolutely obsessed with… TEA. So in every “episode” of this series I want to talk about a different tea and their health benefits, side effects, history or just various interesting facts about the teas. So let’s get started with the first one:

Peppermint tea

peppermint-tea_620x350_51488225621.jpg

This is one of the most popular tea varieties in the world, probably because of the familiar “minty” flavor. Peppermint is classified as an herbal tea and has been used for centuries as a natural remedy. It’s also one of my personal favorites as I love the taste, freshness and minty undertones.

I do prefer loose leaf teas over teabags but you do get some excellent brands that have Peppermint tea in teabag form. I buy most of my teas from a small brand called “The Tea Merchant”. One of my favorites is their “Moroccan mint” tea (which is a green tea infused with mint leafs). Peppermint tea in itself is not a green tea, but different flavors can always be combined to make something delicious. When I’m not in a “green tea” type of mood, I just use a simple dried peppermint leaf tea.

Moroccon Mint from the Tea Merchant

IMG_20180216_162200.jpg

Of course you can also always add fresh peppermint or mint in a tea infuser. I usually add fresh mint leafs when I’m using a regular peppermint teabag. The tea will taste beautifully fresh and you will reap so much more of the health benefits by using fresh mint.

The Dried Peppermint leafs I use

IMG_20180216_162008.jpg

I drink peppermint tea mostly for the taste but it also has some excellent health benefits. The one I use it for the most is bloating, a common occurrence among women. It’s not some miracle cure for bloating, but it definitely relieves some of the discomfort. It is also very good for soothing menstrual cramps and pains.

It’s a caffeine free tea so you can enjoy it before bed for a good night sleep. A cup of peppermint tea at night will also be great for your overall digestion. The tea also has some weight loss properties but as a true tea lover (and also a fitness fanatic) I don’t think the only reason you should drink tea is to lose weight.

The tea is also very good for clearing sinuses due to sharp minty smell. Peppermint is not only good for the body but also the mind as it acts as a stress reliever and is also beneficial of people who suffer from anxiety. It’s also a great way to soothe a headache.

A good brand for Peppermint teabags

peppermint-tea-bags-8.jpg

Some of the other benefits of Peppermint tea:

• Reduces Fever
• Improves Digestion
• Prevents Nausea & Vomiting
• Boosts Immunity
• Removes Bad Breath
• Weight Loss
• Reduces Stress Levels
• Good for bad breath

I really hope you liked this post and that you are just as excited for this series as I am. If you have any particular teas you want me to talk about, just leave a comment!

Some sites to read up more about this tea:

https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/beverage/peppermint-tea.html
https://www.thespruce.com/peppermint-tea-benefits-765056
http://www.stylecraze.com/articles/benefits-of-peppermint-tea-for-skin-hair-and-health/#gref
https://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/fitness/oh-my-knees-working-around-and-with-an-injury.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39