Visiting the mountain tea plantations of Sichuan, China - and an ancient village as well!

in #tea7 years ago

Have you ever been to a real-life tea plantation surrounding a village in rural China? Well, I have - come take a look! What a day....

Outside of Chengdu and up in the mountains near Qionglai is the "tea trade corridor" of Sichuan that's got a history of over 2,000 years. Historically, the local Sichuanese would grow their tea and ship it over the mountains west to Tibet, where it would be traded for horses and other goods. Following that, the tea would be shipped from Tibet over the Silk Road to the west!

Why did I end up there? A co-worker and I were invited to take part in a tea festival and tour of the area - free of charge!

While I can't give you a whole history of tea or really answer the question "What is Chinese tea like?," this video can at least give you a little look at the spirit of tea and the feeling that surrounds the cultivation of tea throughout China! I hope you can learn to love China, Chinese tea, and history as much as I do! What a day this was :)

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/letchinasleep2
Twitter: @LetChinaSleep
我的微博:@懒惰老外
My old blog: http://www.austinguidryexperiencingchina.blogspot.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35