You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Is Jeff Berwick? Scam Artist or Businessman?

in #tdv8 years ago

I definitely found it alarming. Don't get me wrong. With negative reviews like that, I'd be weary of doing business with anyone, and online reviews do help in the decision making process. However, I also think that if there were that many people being ripped off by such a public figure, who appears easy to find, then why has there not been any legal action? For people who are Libertarian, Anarchist, or anti-government in general, I believe smear campaigns help steer followers away easily. I'm definitely not trying to defend him or anyone else who are scam artists. But I do hope that further digging either proves without a doubt that he is a scammer, or clears him from charges like that. I just find it difficult to believe that people could lose thousands of dollars and there not be a legal trail or much more public drama since he's very mobile and public in many of his events. I personally have not found any legal evidence. Maybe you will? The Galt's Gulch drama has been going on forever, and he did release his side of the story and many people besides Jeff seem to be going after Ken Johnson, who is the man making accusations in one of the videos in this post. You can see what he said here: https://dollarvigilante.com/blog/2015/12/07/whatever-happened-to-galts-gulch-chile.html . One thing I will say about the GG incident, is Jeff definitely spread the word on that and probably drew in a ton of customers. In some ways, even if accidentally he's at least responsible for exposing GG to new people who may have lost money. Nonetheless, just as Jeff provided some legal documentation about the charges against those in the GG scam, I would really like to see legal documentation from many of these people who are voicing claims. Good luck with your findings.

Sort:  

He was a co-founder. As such, the business was his responsibility. I'm in the same position with my business and if one of my partners went rouge and started abusing our investors, I would have to fix the problem even if it meant purging him from the equation. If I just walked away silently and let it all burn down, my name would be complete shit afterwards. Such irresponsibility and cowardice is unacceptable, especially when your investors are ruined because of it. He could've had Johnson physically removed and the investors could have then been able to come and claim the land, even though they would be getting more than they paid for. It could have been relatively simple but because zero balls or leadership were shown, it's still a complete effing disaster and I'm left down here in Chile working every day to slowly redeem the Galt name that was so badly dragged through the mud.

If he went rouge, that could be one hell of a Steemit makeup tutorial. /lol

Well good luck with that @piedpiper. Do you think it's salvageable? I only know what I've read. I still think the idea is a great idea. I'd definitely consider it if it weren't such a mess. Good luck! And in no way am I taking up for him. I don't know him other than his podcasts. And I won't pretend to know all the details. I still say if you or anyone else has claims like this, then provide legal documents. It's the only real way we can know. The legal documents he posted on TDV did not list him as a defendant, co-founder or not. I do agree that if you mislead people, even unknowingly, there is still some responsibility to clear that up. I'll definitely follow you in case you post more about these issues.

I haven't been there for two years now so I'm not up to date on all the current legal details. Last I heard, the majority of the company had been sold out to a Chilean businessman named Mario Del Real and Ken Johnson is still squatting on the property. I'm not optimistic at this point. After getting to know some of the PDI (like Chilean FBI), it has become clear to me that the authorities don't give two shits about foreigners screwing one another. They have more important local matters to allocate their tax dollars to. The obvious solution required the victims to roll up their sleeves and be prepared to use some well-justified force to remove the invader/occupier and take control of their community's land back. Rugged self-sufficiency isn't always rainbows and pussycats. Sometimes pioneers have to get a little dirty.

Hi framelalife. Currently, there are upwards of 10 criminal lawsuits filed against the Chilean swindlers whom Berwick, and others, aligned with in early 2014, or earlier, to bring harm to the GGC project. I filed the first of these criminal actions in late 2014. Criminal actions were also filed against me, but they are being dismissed, and we are fully confident that they all will be dismissed. The legal process simply has to play out. As far as "victims" of GGC goes, the only victims created will be from the actions of Berwick, and the small group that worked with him, and the Chilean swindlers, to attempt their hostile, and criminal, takeover attempt of GGC. Their actions include forgeries, falsification of public deeds, falsification of contracts, obtaining signatures in fraudulent manners, theft of client funds, and much more. There are also civil legal actions filed in all directions, which we will sort out as well. I have offered most of my rightful ownership in GGC to the GGC clients, but this offer was opposed, and prevented from moving forward in mid-2014, by those who referenced themselves as the GGC "rescue" team. My offer still stands on this, because my sole purpose for creating GGC was to create a safe place for people to live with organic food, clean water and their own energies…not to be the largest shareholder or make the most money, as some in this world seem to only focus on. While talking about ownership in GGC, a significant false representation made to this day by Berwick, Josh Kirley and others involved with their takeover attempt is that there are 70+ "investors" of the GGC project. Their implication that all GGC clients are investors, or owners, of the project is false. I presume that they did this in order to attempt to make it appear that there was some sort of investment fraud with false representations, etc., so that they could rope in agencies in the US or something. Anyhow, it's just another lie in a long list of lies told by them publicly. They've told Berwick to basically shut up, because he doesn't know when to turn off the lies anymore, though that can also be said about the small remaining group aligned with him against GGC. It is my only goal to complete the GGC project, or to offer refunds when necessary, if we cannot complete what was discussed with clients. Just to clarify here, the contracts that GGC entered into with clients do not promise that we had approved subdivisions at the time of the promise agreements (prior to sales agreements). These contracts, in English, clearly state that GGC is working to obtain future parcels, though I don't have the exact wording as I type this. The zoning for our land is for 10-hectare parcels, which was never hidden from Berwick, our original investors, or others. There are hundreds upon hundreds of communications, documents, etc., outlining this. The options for smaller parcels vary here, which many people in the US don't quite understand, as I did not understand either being new to Chile. I won't get into those details, but it clearly shows that claims being made by those seeking to seize GGC's assets are not truthful, and the same goes for the false statements made by Berwick, and parroted by "Gabriel" and others. Some of the articles that people post here, and even the websites set up to attack me, have countless inaccuracies and lies. I don't go to those websites, because it would take so much energy and time to debunk all that they are saying. It can be, and should be done, but time is limited. I truly shouldn't even be on here replying to false accusations, but sometimes I drop a few truth bombs here and there. I do apologise if I get a bit emotional or may want to strike back at those who have publicised so many false things about me. I do know that such things are not productive for explaining the actual true history of GGC. Cheers.

@galtsgulch

thank you for doing this. i have been trying to expose him for a long time

I always kick myself for not doing so much sooner, but the process of digging through mountains of information, while also operating the GGC farm, fighting legal battles, dealing with other aspects of GGC, makes it quite difficult. I have been in communications, as have others, with federal agencies now investigating Berwick. I can't comment on that too much, but I may share some information on that soon. I appreciate the thanks. Stellabelle definitely deserves thanks for following through to find the truth about Berwick's conduct. Cheers.

You are being played. this galtsgulch is Kenneth Dale Johnson, the criminal behind GGC that stole $10.5 million. None of the criminal charges against this guy in Chile are being dismissed, quite the contrary. Go to http://ggcrecovery.com for the truth and evidence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61