TCK - Belonging.

in #tck7 years ago (edited)

This is my first post Third Culture Kid - related. There will be many more to come.

Belonging is tricky when you've grown in different parts of the world.

It's just complicated because I don't know what my life actually is.
I mean, I am the only connection between my life in Germany, my life when I'm traveling with this certain group of people, and the life I have when I visit Guatemala for long periods of time.

So I have to keep switching lives back and forth and I just have no clue what my actual life is you know...

It's just so weird and confusing.
There's this sense of belonging in more than two places having more than two different lives, and at the same time just not belonging... In any.

So I have to ask myself seriously:
What is my life like?
How can I define my life?
In which one do I belong or in which one do I belong the most?
Do I even belong completely or is it just some kind of part-belonging-part-not-belonging thing?

Can you relate?
How would you answer these questions?

If you share any of my thoughts or feelings I'm pretty sure you are a Third Culture Kid.

If you have never heard the term TCK before I recommend you read the book called exactly that: "Third Culture Kids" by David C. Pollock.

If you know you are a TCK or just discovered that you are, leave me a comment sharing your thoughts on belonging! :)
Keep posted for more posts to come!

-Andrea Carrascosa

Sort:  

I will follow you because you are a good person. Good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30