Charity Done Right Is Charity Done Locally

in #taxistheft6 years ago

I recently went to help serve some homeless men participating in a program that helps them get on their feet again. I won't name it here because I did not ask their permission, but ask me if you would like to donate or learn more. After serving them, I got to sit down and have a conversation. I loved it so much, and I learned so much from them that I brought my son the next time. My son has microcephaly and it took him a minute to understand what was going on, but once he realized how he could help, he was amazing and he loved it!! The men all loved him and it was a fabulous time for everyone.

I recently had a huge setback in my life, and I know that when that happens I have to really pick up my service. Serving others always helps me get back on my feet faster and with more energy and happiness. This is one of the things I committed to in my search for service opportunities.

This program is a local charity cooperation that takes no federal money. Men (and there is a woman's group also), agree to follow certain rules and the program will provide them lodging, food, and transportation to work or occupational training. There are 22 churches in the area that have agreed to provide lodging for 1-3 nights a month each, and even more churches and organizations that provide food.

I thought how the government steals my money, so that I cannot give as much to this organization, and then doles it out in ways that are much less efficient at actually helping people. The government will do studies on the problem for years, never coming to a conclusion, and keep taking money from us to do more studies. They may build a shelter here and there, but by and large they do nothing. Local charities and organizations such as the one I am participating in, understand the local area, they can mobilize churches and other charitable organizations to get these people JOBS and HOMES. There are people making meals to take to their day, or two, of the month, that never would have given to a charity. That's because it's local, and it's visible.

I think about my son, who needs an extreme amount of healthcare, and I have been in a position to provide it for his whole life. Now I may not be able to, and people keep telling me he can just go on MediCaid. Sure he can, but why is that the answer? The society at large should not be burdened with helping him, especially when I could do it myself if the government would not steal so much from me, and they have to steal from ten others to be able to afford the administration costs of their theft. MediCaid will be an extreme step down in the level of care that he receives.

Charity done locally is much more effective, and cheaper. "Charity" done through theft at a National level is worthless and they make it the only option.

Sort:  

@tattonchantry, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39