Taxicab confessions #3: My journey

in #taxicabconfessions6 years ago (edited)

graffiti-497164_1280.jpg

These are my #taxicabconfessions over time and maybe with a few disclosuresI will start doing more on the confessions of the fares. But for now these are from my perspective just to give an insight of who I am as a taxi driver!!!

The bar-man

Well, I had the honor of taking the same man home from my last confessions, this time was a bit different, although there was the banter of drunkenness coming through, once the car ride was over, he sat in my car and stared off into the darkness before us... then he looks over to me and said he found out he has cancer and he is waiting for results from tests for his son who is also sick. I had no idea i mean why would I, you know? I told him just because he was told he is dying he shouldn't quicken the process. I told him my mother was diagnosed when I was in elementary school, that the doctors told her she had 6 months to live, well she lived through 9 more years, so I told him just because we are told that we are sick and the chance of dying is closer than we wished it to be, doesn't mean stop living. It means to start if you haven't yet! He sat there and cried, the sight of a man crying was strange to me, I do not see that very often. I told him he will be fine and I hoped to see him soon, but next time I hoped it was him telling me he was living with cancer and not dying with it. It's never too late to get out there and chase your dreams. He smiled at me and gave my arm a squeeze, and told me I'm different than the others he has encountered, and said thank you for listening. I told him its no problem we all need to be heard. He put 20 dollars in my hand and walked away, I yelled out to him he already payed me, but he waved me off with a drunkened stagger and told me goodnight...

The party boy

This guy...I kind of had to get "mean" with him. I am an addict first off so any offers of drugs kind of piss me off! Ok they really piss me off. I know that he didn't know, Maybe my red and darting eyes made him think I too was a party girl. No sir, that's called 13 hour work days driving a cab and getting offers for drugs kind of perturbed look. He barely was in the car before he asked me if I wanted to do some meth. Like seriously, people just ask that now?! Wow!!!
By the end of the ride he apologized probably 25 times, I asked him to do me a favor, don't just get In asking to party i don't know who drove before me and do not care but if you see me driving respect me and my sobriety! He said yes maam, dammitman, now i am old...

The original one of a kind awesome "professor"

Ok so I'm not sure if he's a professor or just professes his love of BSU. I had given him some of the images from the #informationfinding championship since he is a writer and lives words. He told me he's been thinking about getting signed up but each time he starts someone calls or something else happens. I think it's awesome this guy goes every where in BSU from the student center to the Cultural center every where!!! He truly is one of my favorite people to pick up, Hopefully once he gets signed up we will read some awesome topics from him and his experiences!!!

Taxicab confession #1
Taxicab confession #2

Image source: www.pixabay.com

Sort:  

haha your stories are always a good laugh! Thanks Charisma! :) except maybe the first one is a bit more tragic..but crazy the type of people you meet.

Its crazy the different personalities i happen across through this new job hopefully i can help more than just giving a way home, and can show them that with steemit they too can change their lives!

That first story was very touching.. Glad to hear you gave him such wise and helpful words and that he also compensated you with some extra cash. Sometimes.. People just want someone to listen to them.. It's one of the most underrated things in the world, but.. It seems like very few people truly know how to listen.. And to listen in a way that honors the other person as opposed to just trying to respond yourself with your own point of view as much as possible. But.. If you can really genuinely listen to people, this will open all kinds of doors in life.

That's pretty crazy the dude asked to do meth so openly like that!
And cool to hear the professor is trying to sign up even if he's a bit busy! Maybe one of these days we'll see some of these people you talk to on here on steemit or maybe even in the IFC! That would be super cool. :)

I take my hat off to you, seriously! I love driving, but such long hours and with people offloading on you all day must take its toll. It's awesome that you listen, show an interest and try to uplift people like guy 1. As for the meth addict, being tested like that is hectic. My husband is an addict (I think I've mentioned that before), and it's a constant battle. And your professor, well at least you have something pleasant in your day.
In all honesty, I've been wanting to read your series but never have time and as it's a long weekend here in SA, I finally have some real steemit time ... I actually just saw your post on giving up and really wanted to read one before you stopped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98