You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem-related Tax Reporting for Dummies

in #taxes6 years ago

Wow! That's a nice report . . . . but I actually did it a few steps better by being smart about which asset batches I redeemed when.

For example, certain transactions are clearly deductible as advertising. You want to use your lowest cost basis batches of SBD/Steem on them so the greater capitals gains are deductible (and you save your valuable high cost basis batches for future redemption).

I also managed to arrange it so that half of my capital gains were long-term (asset owned over a year) rather than short-term -- which means a much lower tax rate.

Also, you definitely should be able to deduct the accounting services because:

  1. You really want to make your blogging a Schedule C business so that you can deduct advertising
  2. That accountant is clearly deductible on Schedule C

Hopefully your accountant was savvy enough to use all the tricks above. Did he have any other tricks I might have missed? The one I checked with didn't . . . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77