You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Solo-401(k)s Magic Fairy Tax Dust? Spoiler: No

in #taxes6 years ago

I don't know, I read a lot of the comments on that post and they just make me happier with using my Roth as a fiat hedge, keeping it in a USD-denominated index fund, and not spending a lot of time on it. And I could probably convert to managed without any trouble, as we've got a wealth manager running my partners' larger IRAs. Starting from scratch has to be of questionable worth just on the time and brainpower investment.

Sort:  

I think your approach makes a lot of sense.

Personally I am more or less against qualified funds in general. The tax deferral strategy only works if your income is lower and tax rates are the same or lower in the future. And then there are problems with caps, limitations on activities, and the actual chances that the funds are left alone.

Of the hundreds or thousands of people I've seen with qualified funds, maybe 5% actually have something still in the account at retirement age. Of those, most just use the entire balance in the first couple years.

I have such a super-weird financial situation that I'm basically the ideal candidate for Roth as long as I can get enough EI to contribute to it. But I can see that it doesn't make as much sense for most typical workers as the pundits like to position it to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99