Tattoo Story Contest Entry - "Monkey Magic"

in #tattoostorycontest8 years ago (edited)

This is an impulsive post about an impulsive tattoo.

My first child was born in the year of the of the monkey. I chose a monkey to commemorate her birth.

It was a walk in.

I said, I want a monkey tattoo, the guy pulled out a book, and I chose one.

I asked him to colour it yellow and black with a red sash, as this was the colours of my KungFu uniform. Well, except for the red sash, it is reserved for masters, like a black belt in Karate. I was no master but I decided my monkey would be.

I had a couple of years in which I was a bit obsessed with Ging Mo Kune Kung Fu, and all things Chinese.

I was the most uncoordinated, left handed, goofy footed, slow learning, accident prone, menacing student. But I loved it.

Motherhood changed me in many was. I didn't have the slightest interest in fighting after having children, but I did retain my passion for a Cheongsam.

This was my first Tattoo. I don't love it and I don't hate it.

However it did precede a couple of other impulsive images, and together they form a bit of a mess across my back. But as I can't see them, they don't bother me terribly.

My child turned twelve this year, which would account for the fading, but to be honest it wasn't a master piece of line work and shading to begin with.

What I do love about it is that it represents my girl. She is my treasure, so for that reason it is too.

It's kind of cool to say that you literally have a monkey on your back too.

I have since had a boy. He was born in the year of the horse, my husband was too. If anyone feels inspired to draw a fabulous daddy horse and foal, I will ink it and post it here.

Sort:  

"The monkey on your back is the latest trend"
-Kimya Dawson

I don't see what anyone can see
In anyone else but you.
-Moldy Peaches.
So yes Kimya Dawson and Adam Green

AHA!

Another Great Entry!

You are now officially entered in WEEK #5 of the TATTOO STORY CONTEST!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34