Why This Happy Krill Can Not Run A Contest

in #tattoostorycontest8 years ago (edited)

I Am A Happy Krill

I love to check out the creative contributions on steemit.

If I like something I up vote it. It doesn't matter who it is, or if your wallet bulges. I don't think about that stuff a hell of a lot.
Equally I offer my own contributions without considering whether or not the content would appeal to The Larger Mammals, and I can honestly say I do it with a happy heart.

I live across the ocean from many other steemians. I often post in the evening, go to bed, and on occasion I wake to a surprise couple of bucks.

Don't get me wrong. It feels nice when something flourishes a little. I didn't say I was a humble Krill, just happy. I am also pleased if my up votes make double digits, or if someone took the time to comment. Nice message, critique, or a differing of opinion. I like the connection.

When I took over hosting @papa-peppers Tattoo Story Contest however, I started to feel obligated to generate $$$.

I took on a contest that I very much admired, in which I was asking people to take the time to share a potentially personal story, with the promise of SBD & Steem generated from the Tattoo related posts.

I felt an incredible desire to reimburse the contestants for their efforts, without the means to do so. I also lack the desire to shift my mindset to one focused on generating revenue.


Therefore I have decided not to continue hosting the contest.

So with only a tiny bruise to my ego, I was somewhat relieved when by Saturday I had not received a single entry. I was relinquished of the task of rewarding the participants their share of the whopping $0.06 generated from the post. Which equated to author reward of 0.017 SD, 0.019 STEEM and 0.062 STEEM POWER.

I'm apposed to the use of LOL in general, but in this case even I think it might be warranted. LOL!

Then, on Saturday @penpen's post popped up.

A beautifully written piece about a North American Honeymoon Adventure, with an accompanying Big Dipper tattoo.

@penpen appears to be new to Steemit. I am grateful that the Steemit community was able to recognise the value of the story, and for an early post, it achieved pretty impressive recognition. Well done.


https://steemit.com/tattoostorycontest/@penpen/big-dipper

Thank you @penpen for providing this last beautiful piece to share. I look forward to following your future posts. You win!

I love the contest element on Steemit. Not solely for the potential wins, but rather for the increased interactions they generate.

Thank you everyone who supported my short lived attempt at coordinating something. This little Krill just doesn't have it in her.

I believe with the ever growing creative community on Steemit, a tattoo contest/challenge of some type holds great potential.

If anyone would like to continue this contest or commence their own tattoo based community concept I would be happy to endorse it.

@papa-pepper has been a great support to me. I wish to extend my sincerest gratitude to him.


Sort:  

Yay. Friendly message. Thanks for checking out my post. I appreciate it.
I checked out your posts too. I love the distorted portraiture in faces, and the Belfast murals are amazing.
Followed too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65