My Tattoo Story Contest Entry

in #tattoostorycontest8 years ago

This is my most recent tattoo. I got it to represent my father who retired from the railroad after putting in 50+ years. Once a year, he would always take me to see trains like this at his company picnic. I always acted excited to see the trains although I wasn't very interested in them, because I knew they meant a lot to him and I wanted to see him smile. It's one of the few memories I have of him during my childhood.

My father always put work before us kids. This lead to a very strained relationship over the years. He never seemed available so I made sure to make myself even less available.

Now a father myself, I realized he was only doing what he had to do to support the family. We have recently opened communication back up and are working on our relationship.

To me, the tattoo represents the past memories that are rusted, but still hold their sentimental worth. I get the chance to look at this tattoo daily to always remind me to be present in my childrens lives and to cherish those memories.


Don't forget to follow me if you liked this post.

Sort:  

Finally, a good tattoo story. That guy did some awesome detail and shading on that engine.

All three of the other entries for the contest last week and this week weren't exactly positive overall, were they? At least they were some interesting stories though.
Unlike some of the others, I'm glad that this one wasn't a "train wreck" too.

Thank you, the tattoo was done by Max Egy in Kokomo, IN at the bohemian tattoo club http://www.bohemiantattooclub.com . It was a 9hr tattoo done in one sitting.

great story @bdavid some times we can anderstand our parents only when we become parents :) its great, that you and your father restore your relations!

I'm glad to hear about the communication and relationship repairing that is currently going on. Great Entry for the Contest, plus, at least you've made a few cents on it already anyway. perhaps there may be more to come.

What an awesome tattoo! Top notch shading and detail. And the story behind it is just as lovely. :)

Wow that's an awesome tattoo and a beautifull story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72