Inked.

in #tattoos5 years ago

So, the other day I was scrolling through my feed and came across this badass post by @foxyspirit about tattoos. She's running a contest to showcase your tattoos, so if anyone's interested, go ahead. Anyway, check out the post because it has some really sweet art.

And I figured I'd join, even though I'm not big on showing my tattoos. It's not that I don't want people to know, I really don't care if they do. It's just that I don't really like the question 'what's that one about'. See, to me, tattoos are a really private thing and you can bet that if it's on my body, it means something. And if I want to tell you, I will.

But I wanted to do this contest because I just love tattoos. Seriously, all my life, I've had this thing about them, this fascination. I remember when I was fifteen and I found out that at sixteen, it'd be legal to get a tattoo with my mom's consent. So obviously, I pestered her to let me get it. And since I have an awesome mother, she actually got one with me.

And man, the guy who tattoooed me...man oh man. But I am straying from the point and even though he was beyond and above, I am supposed to be talking about tattoos and not him. So, I got my first tattoo when I was sixteen and ever since I felt that buzz on my skin, I knew I was in love. Even though the place I was getting ink - ribs - was supposed to be extremely painful. And it is. I was way too hyped on my first go to even feel anything and I was way too stressed out about breathing too much so as not to cause the guy's hand to slip. But on my third tattoo (seventeen), which covered the other side of my ribcage, I was chill enough to experience the pain in all its magnificent glory. And the problem with that area is it's so close to the bone, and obviously, being quite skinny only made it worse. But I'm not complaining.


61463578_615392575628480_2844990644722597888_n.jpg

As they say, pain is temporary, tattoos last forever. I really take that one to heart.

I hear a lot of people say they couldn't deal with the permanence. The 'forever' of a tattoo. The way I see it, everything is forever. What, you think all the stupid shit you do isn't gonna come back and haunt you? Haha think again. Marriage is forever, kids are forever, decisions - good or bad - are also often forever.

And there's also that bit about regrets. People who are against tattoos love that one. You're going to regret that when you're eighty. And I always tell them, no, I am not. First of all, regrets are pointless. And second, this life is usually so messed up, I really doubt my biggest regret is going to be a tattoo. I mean, sure if you get a huge tattoo of Madonna taking a shit, then maybe...
But I am not at that stage yet and I don't really see myself getting there any time soon.

Anyway, I had my first tattoo almost four years ago. I have five now, only one is so small it's barely a tattoo. But I love it anyway. I sketched it and I'm so used to seeing it on my wrist, I can't imagine how I'd look without it. Weird, I know, but you get used to them. I can't imagine myself without any of my tattoos.


61680389_567221233803792_3875580970954391552_n.jpg

So, what about you? Do you have any tattoos? If so, maybe consider entering them in this sweet contest. :D If not, would you ever like to get one?

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Mine would have to be:

TL:DR

 
I have thought about getting a tattoo but I would have to design it myself and I never finish drawings :D

Maybe tattoo one of your favorite words: disenfranchisement? :P

I might get it as a tramp stamp ;D

Naughty :))

On your hand somewhere, so you could see it every time you write something :D

I never finish drawings :D

Maybe you should. It's make for a cool post ;)

Across all 2 of the fingers I manage to type with.

I think my drawinngs would be collated into a book named Unfinished works

Looks awesome

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDE! I love your post!!!!!!

I totally know what you are saying. Some of those men are just MM MMM MMMMMMMM! I've had to refrain from asking if I can just eat them while they do their work on me a few times. One was from France and just had everything going on. He had this feature... wait.. Heeeeeeeey! You got me talking and straying from the topic... Not your fault, it's these darn guys looking so good! :D

You are one brave person to get your ribs done for your first one. Tattoo's on the bone give quite a different feeling. It vibrates through to the other ends.

You have awesome work done and the last one is very cute.

Which one are you putting up for the contest?

I agree with you about peoples nagging against the tattoo's. I too got the famous "regret when you're old" crap. I think that would fall under the peoples stupid choices of tattooing penis' on their faces. But when it's art and has huge meaning, why would we regret it. It is our life and it has a huge impact. I sometimes get nasty with those people. I shouldn't but it gets old.
If we live life by regret, there wouldn't any thrills and excitements to be had.
Grab the bull by the horns people and live like this life is the best one your spirit will ever experience! Create the memories for the next life!

Haha thanks! I don't know if it was bravery or simple foolishness :)) Don't get me wrong, I don't regret it or anything, I just didn't really know what to expect :D

Hmm which one, good question...first one, the rib one. :D

Exactly!!! Not worth getting angry over these people, unless they're over-intrusive. And then, there's the 'how will it look when you're 80'...seriously, because I'm gonna look like Sophia Loren when I'm 80 without tattoos, right? :))

Hahahaha!

No one ever really knows what to expect until they get their first one. After that its fine planning for the rest lol.

It took me a LONG time to get my first one. I wanted to for a long time but worked a corporate job where they were still frowned upon. I now have a nearly a full sleeve and a partial one on the other arm. They're a real part of me now and I don't regret my decision one bit.

Love it!! what gorgeous art <3 I love sleeves and yours looks just great. I don't really think the regretting thing is for real. As @foxyspirit said, as long as you don't tattoo a penis on your face or something, and presuming the tattoos have some sort of meaning to you, what's there to regret?

Thanks! Yeah, I think the only people who regret them are the people who get them on a whim and don't get ink that means something to them...or if it turns out to be a really bad tattoo.

Dude! write a post and send it to my on my contest post. Be a part of it for a chance to win some SBD! Why not?

I might do that! How much longer is the contest running?

2 more days, but since it has been a bit slow here on Steemit and this one post being the only entry yet, I might extend it a few extra days in hopes more people see it. There is still time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31