Tattoo: Otherworldly Dreaming Tree

in #tattoo8 years ago (edited)

This purple tree tattoo and watercolor artwork is a representation of the conduit of attention between the metaphysical and the physical worlds. I start by painting a watercolor painting and then I attempt to tattoo the painting much like it appears in the watercolor style.

This writing is a short meditation on the meaning of the artwork.

The Dreaming Consciousness

The mind is beyond the physical existence, plain and simple. It has no tangible parts. What I am suggesting is that if you think of a glass of water, it only exists in your mind. That is a metaphysical glass of water. When you go get that glass of water that you thought about seconds earlier, it becomes physical.

The metaphysical territory is created by the mind and is the otherworldly dream of the consciousness. A very creative process! During sleep it overrules the forefront of your experiences. When the mind is very active during the waking state your dreams overwrite on top of reality. (daydreaming) 

The consciousness is also beyond the physical dimension. Although it births the mind, it is not the same as the mind. It is the spark of life in the body. It is before the mind and body. The mind and its senses report to the consciousness behind it. Some call it spirit, soul, etc. These words fall short and no belief is required to be conscious.

Without effort, it just is, you just are. It is the source of the very first thought that creates everything. The big bang is the very first seedling thought “I Am” or “I exist”. Everything that comes after that is the dreaming of consciousness.

I am the Consciousness Behind it All

The conditioning that you have gathered throughout this life will tell you otherwise, but identity is NOT limited to your surface self. We are all swimming in a sea of mind generated metaphysics whether we believe ourselves to be or not.

I have a mind. I am the consciousness. I can state that because I have discovered it to be true in my experience. You shouldn’t take my word for it. Question me and investigate yourself.

In one chop you can instantly recoil the attention back to its roots temporarily and the dreaming stops. Thinking stops and you become clear and free from the dreamworld but only for a brief moment. Then the dreaming starts again.  

Following the Tree Back to its Roots

The power of attention is most overlooked power we have as human beings. Attention is a tentacle of sensory interaction with life experience. The attention can also be compared to a tree of life rooted in consciousness, growing in reality, even dreaming itself beyond the physical plane.

Calling the attention back to source is all that is required to wake up from the dream for a moment. You can do this when you place your attention toward consciousness itself.  Your center of attention will resonate at the core of your being. It is a realignment and harmonizing of your inner most self.

Follow the tree back to its roots. In doing so you become aware of yourself as the consciousness. Not just aware of consciousness as independent from whom you are as we are most of the time. 

Then the mind and its metaphysical interpretations become a pleasant unreality, a beautiful lucid dream.

Comments Suggestions:

Do you have any lucid dreaming experiences? How about moments in the waking state where you became super focused and clear? Please share! 

Also thanks for looking at my tattoo artwork and paintings. You can find more at joelwrightart.com

Sort:  

very cool artwork.

I remember my first lucid dream. It was the first night after having watched "A Waking Life" by Richard Linklater many years ago. Just as suggested in the movie, in my dream, i happened to flip a light switch and nothing happened. I immediately realized I was dreaming and there was an eruption of self awareness from which i awoke soon after. After that experience I had many more and became completely fascinated with exploring the experience. From very simple empty space, trying to control the basic movement of dots to very detailed flying around and meeting people, demons, and new realms,connections etc. The most profound experiences were a few seemless transitions from waking state to dreaming state without losing consciousness. Droping my body and falling into this new space, or just rising from the couch and bursting through walls, testing my boundaries.

It's been many years since I've experienced a lucid dream unfortunately. Any more I don't even remember having dreams at all. I should try to get back into such things. These were remarkable experiences.

@xeldal I am very interested to hear about that! Did you ever have any experiences that made you want to quit lucid dreaming or did you loose interest? I ask because I had some experiences in the past that made me want to stop lucid dreaming I may write about at some point. I am over it now though.

No, there were some frightening things, but i suppose because of my experience with meditation I was able to sit through them. It was kind of liberating in a way to know that I was able to, but certainly left me a bit shook up. I don't think this deterred me at all as it wasn't often this way. I think my waking life just changed and I became absorbed in other things and didn't find time for meditation, pursuing further lucid dreaming, and various other practices. Unfortunate really, as looking back on this time I consider it to be where I found most meaningful growth and I don't feel I've done much since then personally/spiritually. I'd be interested in reading about your experiences at some point that made you want to stop. : )

you possess global management theory?

I'm not sure what that is.

Gorgeous art! I'm an artist my self and I love your stuff!

Yeah, his work is on point.

Hey @kaylinart I will check out your artwork soon. Thank you!

Beautiful and ecstatic write up to go with your art, sir.

As for your questions, I can't say I am a lucid dreamer. I don't recall any of those moments. However, I do have moments of great clarity and insight, especially when I write. Sometimes I enter into the flow state, and I just work in a seamless and steady fashion, and everything comes out in the most creative way. I still have to edit the material, but the content is good by itself.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks Sterlin. Lucid moments in the waking state can be just as powerful as lucid dreaming. I supposed they are about the same. That flow state happens when there are no mental hang ups so the feel of freedom in the flow is not held back. Writing is your zen garden. I love watching your creative expression unfold. It is contagious as you have me writing again and that was missing. After taking some time off my mind wants to complicate it. I am training to learn to write simple.

Congratulations @wrightzen! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wrightzen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.5 and reading ease of 78%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11