Tattoos - my lil art collection

in #tattoo8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit

I am very new to this platform, so I could be wrong, but I don't think I've seen any posts about tattoos as yet and thought it might be a cool topic of interest for some of you. I'm not a tattoo artist (I am a trained body piercer, but that's another story), but I am an avid collector of tattoos :)

Rancid band logo - i just love this image so much :) - done by Alex at Ink Nation in Barbados

I've lost count of how many I have at this point, but I thought I'd share a few of mine for whoever may be interested.

my first tattoo - done when i was 16 - based on a drawing done by @tiffjane

I've been interested in tattoos for as long as I can remember and have used the process of being tattooed as a sort of therapy. It's a bit difficult to explain, but the pain and the process of being tattooed is quite cathartic.

I view tattoos as an art collection of sorts, telling a story about this canvas that they're on. Some of my pieces are very sentimental and have strong meanings for me.

A Jesus face with the crown of thorns done by Soap at Modern Classic Tattoo in London. This one represents for me a re-kindling of faith and a sense of hope. After struggling with some addictions for a few years, I was introduced to a 12 step program which helped in this process of finding faith and hope again, and although it's hard for me to define exactly what my faith is, I think of Jesus in this context as a symbol of love and sacrifice.

I'm also a rather chaotic person and so some of these pieces are nothing more than "hey! i feel like getting tattooed today" I also tend to go big.

solid black half-sleeve with negative space design, done by Stewart Robson at Frith Street Tattoo in London

I'm a musician and music has been my savior in many ways, so I have quite a few tattoos relating to music, band logos and so on.

Dr Teeth and The Electric Mayhem done by Jonathan Foster at Soul Touch tattoo in Barbados

Zombie shredding a guitar - this image just came from a punk rock poster and i loved it

Caricature style Lemmy Kilmister of Motorhead - done by King Len at Utility Tattoo in Halifax

I'm also a big graffiti fan

A Banksy piece - monkeys are a recurring theme in his work and the comedy of a monkey detonating explosives is perfect. Side note - I live in Barbados, and we've actually had an island wide power outage caused by a monkey - they're just as destructive as we are given the opportunity

who doesn't enjoy a good ole non-violent protest? :) the flower thrower is perfect - equal parts thought provoking and comedic

I have many more, and maybe I can do another post at some point - i love seeing people's tattoos - so many interesting stories. But for now, I'll leave you with the Devil. Hope you enjoy!

devil face done by Matt Owen at the Halifax Tattoo Convention

Sort:  

I really like the Jesus one.

thanks! it's my newest one - i been making a bit of a tradition out of getting a tattoo at each month of sobriety - think i'm gonna have to slow down tho :)

better start getting smaller ones!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47