Penny Dreadful tattoo of Vanessa Ives by Niklavs Trankalis (@nikucis)

in #tattoo6 years ago (edited)

I am a big fan of the show Penny Dreadful. Eva Green is by far the best horror actress that I have seen. She possesses amazing gifts as a performer. And I would recommend this show to anyone who enjoys aesthetic horror films.

It was a big project and we started with the Dom Luis I bridge which is located in the clients home town. A part of the bridge and portrait of Vanessa Ives was a cover up of an old traditional dragon tattoo. It was a bit of a challenge, because of the color that was in the old tattoo. The cover up part had to be very dark an I decided to go with the most organic elements such as trees and hair, so it would give a chance to improvise on the design as I go. As the tattoo heals, it should get easier to spot where the area of trees separate from hair. For I used different tones and on a fresh tattoo everything always looks darker than when the tattoo has settled. In the photo the bridge is fully healed and portrait is fresh. I used mostly grey wash inks, but in the face I added some hints of red in her lips and eyes as well as blended the background with an old tattoo that extends on the clients arm. Hope you guys like the design. Let me know what you think about my work and if you have any questions in the comments.

319.jpg

This is one of my older digital paintings that I did age ago based on a photo reference from the show. Tried to go with a neo traditional tattoo design look on this one.

032.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider up-voting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. I'll do my best to fill this blog with all my artwork, tattoos as well as tutorials and personal experiences related to art, music and a compassionate lifestyle. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Instagram • (instagram.com/nikucistattoo)
Etsy • (VampyCrafts.com)
Follow me @nikucis, thanks.
© Niklavs Trankalis

NT.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @nikucis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nikucis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72