Tattoo Collection: Freddy Krueger Portrait by. KidDarko

in #tattoo8 years ago (edited)

Nightmare On Elm Street
A Freddy Krueger Portait Tattoo
by. KidDarko


click image to enlarge

This is a tattoo I did on my best friend Josh. He is a avid lover of 80's horror movies. We are working on a Jason Voorhees From Friday The 13th tattoo, the same size, on his right arm.

Detail of Freddy's Glove


click image to enlarge

You know what they say, no glove no love. I think Freddy can relate to this statement. Freddy's glove is an iconic part of his persona. Without his glove Freddy isn't much of a threat.
I remember taping thing to my fingers as a kid imagining I was Freddy Krueger, slashing my hand around in the air. You see I am a very gentle and kind person but have always enjoyed the lore of these psychopathic monsters. My cousins and I would play and pretend we were each character. Unlike in the movies we would laugh and shout as our imaginations got the best of us. All the while knowing we were completely safe.


Completed Tattoo


click image to enlarge

A tattoo of this caliber takes a very skilled eye to cover all the tones and detail properly. This was a very challenging tattoo that tested my abilities as an artist. There is many fine details in the face and glove making this an extremely difficult tattoo to produce. This tattoo was a great learning experience. The entire process took about 16 hours.

Award Winning!

My friend entered this tattoo into a competition at the Minneapolis Tattoo Arts Convention. The catagory he entered was large color because the portrait category was already judged and closed. We won first place with this tattoo and I felt very rewarded and appreciated for this award.

Feel free to leave question and comments below, I appreciate the feedback.

The Process




Friendship


(left)Josh at 17yrs old, (right)me at 15yrs old

Josh is my best friend of 22 yrs so I didn't charge him for the tattoo. We have been through thick and thin and he has always had my back as well as I have always had his. We have spent countless days hanging out and as kids we got into a lot of mischief. We still talk but don't hang out daily anymore. As we get older we gain more responsibility which inevitably creates distance between teenage friends. It was nice to spend some quality hours with a great friend during this process.

Thanks for viewing my post

Verified

steemverify.com

FOLLOW ME


  • steemit @kiddarko
  • https://twitter.com/JohnnyDarko420
  • https://www.instagram.com/KidDarko
  • https://steemit.chat Username: KidDarko
  • Others I suggest Following @phantomart

    Sort:  

    Indeed it is friend. I will take that as a compliment. Thank You @positivesteem

    congratulations! Awesome job. I remember that glove was so cool and the movies so creepy.

    Youre too humble my man! Beautiful work on a deserving canvas, there is not much more satisfying.

    I agree @phantomart , Thank you

    Nightmare on Elm Street game me the creeps as a kid!

    Me too I loved it.

    I always loved the movie series. 1-2 Freddy's coming for you... and the music :)

    Thank @thecryptofiend It's one of my favorites of all time It's hard to believe it has been 5 yrs since I did this one. I haven't done many portraits since. Replication is stressful and I like my art to relieve stress not produce it. I did learn a lot doing this and every single replication I have done. It is well worth the effort as an artist to do replication for learning purposes if nothing else.

    Thank you @freejayforever . I have many more of my works on my profile page, feel free to take a look through. I try to only post quality content.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.17
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.028
    BTC 60252.67
    ETH 2426.43
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.44