Snoflake TATTOO by Gabchk + DESIGN Process

in #tattoo7 years ago

IMG_2702-Recovered copy.jpg

Two days ago I did this snowflake tattoo on a friend of mine. It was a dynamic experience, as on the same day I did the design and the tattoo. I love to have the time to think of the design for longer, but this one was not something too complicated and it was done spontaneously.

Here is the picture that my friend gave me as a basic idea for reference.

26637850_1672243139462942_991502689_n.jpg

When doing a tattoo design somethings need to be considered, such as how the piece will look after many years. For that it is important to give space for details, as with time the ink settles into the skin and the lines become thicker. So for this amount of detail, the tattoo should have been very big.

To balance things out, the base of the snowflake had to become thicker and the details simplified.

What I did is to print that photo and trace some of its details via transparent paper making them ticker and simplified. I traced only half and edited the rest in PhotoShop to save some time.
Next, I traced the image on a special indigo, marked the middle of the spine with a red marker and applied the stencil over it. From there on it took three hours to ink it. I used 7RM for the outer line and diluted ink and 3RM for the to give lightness to the inner details. As in the beginning the skin is irritated and the white does not pop up too much, I can't wait for the tattoo to heal and see how it will turn out. There is a lot of white ink, but the redness of the skin hides it. After a week or two, I should be able to share with you all the final result. Until then, here is a picture of the fresh piece. My friend is satisfied with the end result and I am happy with it also. The final word will be said when the tattoo heals. It is quite possible that we will add just a little bit of background shadow for some contrast.


👣Follow 📢 Comment 💃 Resteem
Sort:  

This is really lovely, Gabi. Resteemed!

Thank you, Brent :) appreciated

That's awesome... I too am a ink artist... I just posted a blog right before Christmas about my ink.. I may do several more tutorials and step by steps.. like how I did my koi on my leg or my turtle... I have a huge sternum chest peice that I designed but obviously had to have someone else tat.. if u want I can comment a pic!

Send me a link to that post, as I was not avle to find it in your account. Thanks for the resteem. Appreciated :)

great job.. carry on my friend..

I enjoy the simple beauty. Thank you for sharing the details/process.

Is it often that you can finish a tattoo in one sitting? It would seem that even with more simple designs you would need to go back for finishing touches.

It really depends on the tattoo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50