Tattoo Medicine for Transformation

in #tattoo7 years ago

"Tattoo medicine (spiritual healing tattoo) is fast becoming the new buzzword for spiritual seeking neophytes who have moved on from traditional religious dogma and hours of psychotherapy. Tattoo medicine is a tattoo that represents a return to wholeness, a shift into a new wave of consciousness that encourages authenticity, diversity, and presence." - Lisa Barretta, Conscious Ink: The Hidden Meaning of Tattoos

IMG_3828.JPG

IMG_3830.JPG

In honour and appreciation of Amy's reclamation and empowerment of herself by consciously embarking on a deeply meaningful tattoo journey that began with an impulse, an idea, followed by a lot of inner work during 2017, the remainder of this blog is beautifully expressed in her own words:

"Making the decision in the past year to get a tattoo has been a journey in reclaiming myself (ironic when Raven mentioned that 2017 was the year of self). I don't see that as negative but rather provided opportunities for self-discovery: something I needed to do for my own growth and change - this movement outward from the center that forms the basis for my tattoo - the triskelion. The connection and movement of spirit/mind/body, past/present/future, power/intellect/love all come together in a forward motion to reach understanding of self.

The triskelion holds strong female power especially through transition and growth, and encourages positivity and faith; [the shape/movement] defines as well as controls my tattoo. Layered with the triskelion is the balance of the sun and moon. The unison of inner strength and power represented by the sun with the opportunity for constant change represented by the moon. They are together within a circle - again symbolizing unity and rebirth.

IMG_3816.JPG

The entire piece is decorated as a mandala that I thought of in the Native American belief as a protective shield. I believe it creates the feeling of motion and change; the representation of a sacred space and one that will bring health, happiness and prosperity.

Finally, the placement of my tattoo on my shoulder is representative of the burdens I carry but also close to my throat to encourage my own speaking of the truth of who I am. It falls onto my upper arm to draw on my own strength and towards my neck where my thought and emotion come together.

IMG_3829.JPG

I've waited close to half of a lifetime to commit to this 'conscious ink', and who I chose to complete it, as well as where it was done are not a coincidence, but rather a fully awakened choice. Daemon is an incredible artist and person. From the conception of the idea, I felt that he understood what I wanted and why. Daemon made the artist connection between my ideas and who I was, am, and will be.

Lastly, the cleansing and calming of my spirit and soul in Hastings Highlands made this journey one of power and self-discovery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72