Indie Alehouse - A Zeke Tasteem AND #beersaturday review!

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

text16.png

Before getting into this review, I will have to apologize to all the others entering the Drinks with Friends contest here. This contest was made for me, being the Steem Beerologist, and I am most likely going to hit it out of the park! ;)

For the folks who have engaged with my #steemfoodtours review, THANK YOU and here is the second half of my review with a focus on the Beer for Drinks for Friends! You can check out the food-focused blog entry here...https://steemit.com/hive-114105/@zekepickleman/steem-food-tours-86-indie-alehouse-toronto-canada

text16.png

Strap on your drinkin' socks and lets get into it!

IMG_7943.jpg

Indie Alehouse Brewing Company https://indiealehouse.com/ is located in the up and coming Junction section of Toronto. This is my old hood before moving to the country so it is somewhat of a kick in the pants that they waited to open this place til after I moved away!

As the less expensive houses get purchased, gutted, remodeled, and resold for twice the price, trendy businesses are opening everywhere. This is a good example of a place that used to be something I cannot even remember, and is now someplace I would hang out.

text16.png

IMG_7925.jpg

When you first amble in, you are given the choice to take your group of drinkin buddies to a table or belly up to the bar. We chose the bar and this is our view for the evening.

What struck me immediately was not the nice number of taps, but how none of them are labelled with the beer within or a logo. How the hell do they memorize all these taps of obscure beer?

text16.png

IMG_7939.jpg

My smiling server was quick on the scene to offer a drink and unravel the mystery. You see, the beer first on the left hand side of the display on the wall is in the first tap. So, the server simply has to count down from there to see which tap dispenses what. I appreciate that as it is rather unique to not have an absolute mess of different brands and shapes and styles on a chaotic looking row of taps.

text16.png

Can I start you with a drink?

IMG_7926.jpg

Well, I am going to need a drink to wash down that rhetorical question so SURE, why not?

Looking at the list of draft, there is a great selection of a bunch of beers you have little chance of ever having heard of before. A bit of a nightmare for the mega brewery beer fans but an absolute treat for an adventurous Beerologist like me!

What a sweet blend of IPA, Sours, Wheat beer, Extra Special Bitter, Belgian tributes, and awesome guest taps to choose from.

text16.png

IMG_7930 (1).jpg

As is my standard practice, I opted for their standard IPA as it is my personal measuring stick by which I evaluate a brewery. Instigator West Coast Style IPA is not very well described on their website https://indiealehouse.com/pages/brewery but was definitely enjoyable. I find west coast IPAs to be a little more bitter and have a bit more body than the sweeter east coast or New England IPAs. This one did not disappoint with its healthy pour, foam, bubbles and the flavour that was unleashed by the oxygen of the aggressive pour. I would have this again for sure.

text16.png

IMG_7929.jpg

It wouldn't be a Tasteem review without a shot of the menu. Lots to choose from and I go into more detail on the Steemfoodtours post if you care to read or check out my patented Dramatic Extreme Closeup!

IMG_7928.jpg

What I found really neat was the back of the menu. It went in to how the magic happens with details on each of the stages of brewing. There are very few menus that educate and entertain like this and the inclusion of marketing the events and other features of the brewery was really well done.

text16.png

Can I pour you another?

IMG_7934 (1).jpg

Now THAT is a question I was happy to answer.

"Well, I am a Beerologist, beer blogging on the STEEM platform and I have to ask you for your most interesting, different or outstanding beer."

If you want to get the royal treatment at the next brewery you visit, give a line like that a try. It was like a magic spell that opened him up for all sorts ofr conversation and consideration.

text16.png

IMG_7931.jpg

My new best friend though and deliberated, pursed and mumbled, and even had a pow-wow with his counterpart. This was a heavy question to ask indeed and he was not about to give anything but the best answer.

text16.png

IMG_7934.jpg

You can see by the pic above that he went for something dark. It was the Barrel Glory Belgian Dubbel which was about enough to make a hipster weep into his beard or even please the oldest of school beer lover who has his or her heart in the Trappist regions of Belgium. boozy * sweet * oaky has to be the perfect description for this bold and tasty beer in 3 words or less. It was equal parts Belgian, dubbel, barrel and glorious.

IMG_7939.jpg

I will show you my friend again who is mimicking the reaction I gave him when he asked if I liked the Barrel Glory.

text16.png

IMG_7938.jpg
I have to show you the bill for my meal and beverages so that beer lovers across the globe can see what the proces are like on this side of the pond. $7.50 is rather standard for a good pint and the dubbel was only a half pint for the increased alcohol content. Different and bold and worth the $8 in my mind for the experience alone.

text16.png

IMG_7942.jpg

No brewery tour for Drinks with Friends is complete without a visit to the bottle shop as far as I am concerned. Though they were rather shy on my favourite vessel (growlers,) I probably would have stuck with the standard bottles anyhow. It will be a while before I get back to this place and my better half is getting a little grumbly about my growing growler collection. Besides that, I wanted a little more variety to try at home.

What did I pick and how did it taste? You will have to tune in next beer saturday and I will get into all the details for you!

text16.png

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsP3teYnQBrfykj2PtQvzr7BTPj2jozBr616kqTJEUiacftnrpdxt5Am2JG7Q5CRbayHNQRPbY2N9TZLyxesvaL4A5zrzxNCDPW3RUeZbmmmUrQPzicJiCQY56VSEwizA44ahu8.jpg

That about wraps it up for this special Tasteem review and #beersaturday extravaganza. I would encourage you to make a tasteem review and have Drinks with Friends every week with @detlev, your buddy Zeke and the rest of the beer lovers on the blockchain. Be sure to hit the link to read more great beer stories, and pen one of your own!
https://steemit.com/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-week-131

text16.png

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

Power_House_Creatives__night_mode.png

innerblocks.jpg

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnAudsvw6WDTpHnJA.png

4gZTTLyoV1mt24zcGM8zcLoCk3M7uVzgLridqHu8v9Ru3o7UB9bcTDTw95hAKhsvaYyjEAJ94isUgEsbbrbDW7MmNZPv6qJCwSPW9FPXqrUiGhGtDPFLETWHLhCuQUtpxRZpqL8XckaeZdr7jpoGafarcXVaMEgtnrm9jhkmFMjzUsd7n2QPqqqorn8cqrUAvbJJkG5VqKd6Ln4SQV3omGco2J5B13GoaV9.jpg


Restaurant Information


Indie Alehouse Brewing Company
score
2876 Dundas St W, Toronto, ON M6P 1Y8, Canada


Indie Alehouse - A Zeke Tasteem AND #beersaturday review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Beverages with friends


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Great review! Love the details you put to this post. Need to keep this one on my list!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Beverages with friends> Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Drinking socks present and accounted for! I'm still bemoaning the pizza that I never got to taste the other night. After giving it the up close and personal review stand.

I have six brothers and they are always with the belly up to the bar phrase. Yikes. This wino is looking for a dark corner to croon sweet nothings into my glass. I fail. I love beer, but, I need it cold and frothy and a little bit bold. Sound like someone you know?

Throw him over here.

Then I will belly up to the bar and order the third one from the left. I checked it out I swear. This is where Alexa shines. She knows all, except what she doesn't.

I love your tasteem reviews. I can see your receipt and menu are in order, so all is well with the world. I have to admit, at this rate, I could become properly acquainted, all over again. Beer is much better than it used to be.

Thanks for taking us along again and I will definitely use that line. I like it. You think it would work for a pizza?

!tip.20



Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @cryptobrewmaster for you. Enjoy it!

As promised arrived back to see what was behind those intriguing taps, now I see why you had so much fun!

Tasting your way through the brews almost sounds like the pizza was almost all for naught Zeke.

Well done on super run down!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 203 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Ufff. Looks that I miss a lot, I'm mostly moving in the stores when I'm looking for the !BEER experience :)
Great story :)



Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Good review
!BEER :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81