BQM - A Zeke Tasteem review!

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


text16.png

IMG_5514.jpg

text16.png

My last 2 @tasteem reviews highlighted restaurants in Toronto I visited in the weekend of LANfest. This is the third of 3 from that weekend.

We visited this after all of the computers were packed up, everyone had gone home, and the only thing left over in the venue was empty beer cans and stink (picture 8 guys in a confined space for a weekend chugging beer and destroying takeout for a scratch and sniff immersive experience.)

Our host saved this one for last not because it was the best or worst, but because he pictured a walk up the road and a visit to Bellwoods Brewery https://bellwoodsbrewery.com/ so that we could all take home some awesome craft beer.

BQM http://bqmburger.com/ is a simple acronym for a simple concept while the website claims to be the best Burger and Beer in Toronto. I was about to find out!

text16.png

IMG_5513.jpg

Here is thew view upon entering and many of the shots are dark because I don't want to be that guy flashing in a restaurant. Lots of wood and pretty much the standard local pub you might find on any corner within miles.

text16.png

Can I start you with a drink?

IMG_5505.jpg

You must have either read my mind, or know that most people come here for the beer given it is in the name. 8 seasonal taps and 4 regular taps for a total of 12 is very respectable for a place this size. A healthy dose of IPAs makes me very happy and even happier when there are some I get to taste for the first time! I like how they print this paper addition to the menu out because they are always bringing in new ones, and even have taps 2 and 3 with the next beer in line.

text16.png

IMG_5503.jpg

In addition to the rotating and new brands, they still have a page in the permanent menu dedicated to the regular beers for folks not trying to taste the latest thing, or blaspheme and get a cocktail ;)

text16.png

IMG_5507.jpg

I went with the New England IPA which I have been digging a while though I did have to pause and linger over the prospect of a Blueberry Lager, Mexican Spiced Porter, or even a Brett (a kind of yeast with a distinct taste) Peach IPA.

text16.png

IMG_5504.jpg

There are a good deal of options down the right side of the menu including healthy, vegetarian and even kids stuff but you know what I was there for. 17 kinds of burgers is a legitimately respectable number but you would come to expect that with the name and boastful website.

text16.png

IMG_5508.jpg

I opted for a little change and went with the Hawaiian Burger which features Pineapple, Jalapenos, Mozzarella, Bacon and Chipotle Aioli. I even managed to snap a picture before I started eating......I am getting good at this.

text16.png

IMG_5509.jpg

Here is my patented landscape shot where I try and put you right on the edge of the plate and have the burger towering over you.

Given that my taste buds were blasted from a weekend of debauchery, it had to be a very tasty burger in order to make any kind of impression. The nice brioche bun with the sweet mixed with the spicy was exactly as tasty as it needed to be! The onion rings were nice and freshly made and the aioli was great for dipping both burger and ring.

text16.png

Let's take a look at the place!

IMG_5510.jpg

I have come to notice a pattern like at the Death and Taxes and Otto's Bierhalle that they get creative in their storing of the kegs in these more cramped city buildings. I kinda like it as they are shiny and represent a good amount of delicious beer having already been consumed in the hallowed halls.

text16.png

"OMG is that @zekepickleman?"

IMG_5512.jpg

My fame must have preceded me because this lady obviously recognized me and her proximity to a celebrity. Either that or she was a little creeped out I was taking a picture of her and the bar. Tomato/tomatoe.

text16.png

Zeke's Overall Impression

IMG_5506.jpg

This place is legit. Great burger and beer selection in a one-of-a-kind venue. The LANfest host also agrees and is caught here giving the toast of the weekend. Picture him being blasted from the weekend, and us chanting saxa-ma-phone! Inside joke but cheers!

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

I REALLY appreciate you dining with me and the generous upvotes towards the effort to win the contest. Please create a Tasteem.io review of your own!


Restaurant Information


BQM - Beer & Quality Meats
score
210 Ossington Ave, Toronto, ON M6J 2Z9, Canada


BQM - A Zeke Tasteem review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

Good exploring the place with detailed review. Thanks for sharing with Tasteem.

Always improve yourself to increase your quality of post.

#tasteem-curation

Yeah that food looks sweet! Love those onion rings OMG. The prices being in Canadian might look a bit high to us in the States, but once you do the conversion, its about right.

Yeah folks here are super camera shy as well. Good review and looks like my kind of place!

Haha yah they were good. The dipping sauce made them even better and I am kinda glad it was just a treat and not something I eat all the time.

Thanks for the feedback and reading the review my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@zekepickleman, cheers, dood! A very cool post! Was fun to read.
Btw, yesterday during my evening stroll I saw this on the window of one beerhouse/pub:
So, you came to my mind and I snapped a picture of it for you. Do you know this beer?

Posted using Partiko Android

Blasted my tastebuds!!
Great place for drinks and burger!

It really was good. If it had been at the beginning of the weekend instead of the end, I might have had another beer. Good taps?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahhaa what's this uncle?? I felt bad that you're commenting soo much on my posts...so after your last one about hummus and Mcdonalds and fat pills, I've opened your profile to check on some of your posts :D and I see tasteem post, open it...and boom, burgers and beer hahahaha :D

Haha yah it was a special weekend and my defence is I was talking about repeated habits.

I am in danger of typecasting myself as the burger and beer guy rather than just the beer guy. I better start ordering some fancier dishes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Really nice review, @zekepickleman ! I really like how you introduced the place .... the menu then the food, then the people ! So interesting :D I love these kinds of places, good beer and good food = WINNING FORMULA :D

Those onion rings look tasty and I wanna try the beers, so bad !! And your narration is so funny and reading this on Monday morning as I get to work made me happy XD

Oh wow that makes MY day.

I kinda get the same thing when I launch my Monday morning watching @davedickeyyall and his funny #morningbowl.

Warms my heart you took the time to read my silliness and then let me know you enjoyed it.

cheers.jpg

I've been there before, very charming.

Ah cool! It was my first time at that place. Have you been down the road to Death and Taxes or Ottos Bierhalle? I hit those the same weekend and reviewed them in earlier tasteem articles.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've been to Ossington a few times. It's Hipster town!

I've been to Toronto a few times, maybe next time I will check this place out.

It is kind of out of the way so you may not just happen upon it. If you do, definitely head a block south afterwards to Bellwood’s Brewery. Both so good.

Posted using Partiko iOS

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61