🍻Toboggan Brewery - A Zeke Tasteem Review!©🍻

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

IMG_7355.jpg

You had me at Beers!

In celebration of #beersaturday, my leveling up to (65)/1000 followers, and @tasteem, I am back with my first Tasteem Review in quite a while! After a great day of golf, what better way to finish off the buzz than with a trip to the brewery?

Strap on your drinkin' socks and lets get at it.

IMG_7346.jpg

If you are one of my long time followers who doesn't pay attention to the details, or one who is yet to follow my beer adventures, you probably wouldn't have heard of Toboggan Brewing Company http://www.tobogganbrewing.com/ I live 45 minutes away from the brewery and am the only one I know that regularly enjoys their Lunatic Fridge IPA.
IMG_6037.jpg

That being the case, I had never been to the brewery for a tour until this day. It is a long time coming and none of the strip bars were open. ;)

IMG_7346.jpg

One of my favourite breweries has 3 of my favourite things right on their sign out front. They also have gone a little overboard with a coupld huge beer tanks behind the sign.

IMG_7347.jpg

The industrial entrance seemed to fit the town of London and almost looks like the entrance to a ski chalet at first glance in this pic. I do like the rustic look with the complementary wood colours and textures. Though I didn't linger as I was thirsty!

IMG_7350.jpg

The place was surprisingly big on the inside and would pass for a Buffalo Wild Wings or sports joint with the many televisions and really long bar.

IMG_7349.jpg

You can see one of our patented Antler Cows on the far wall highlighting what looks to be a well decorated establishment.

Can I Start You WIth a Drink?

IMG_7352.jpg

You know me too well! As you might expect, there are a metric assload of choices here. The first page is completely taken up with the main beers Toboggan brews which was a pleasant surprise as I only knew of the IPA. The second page is an impressive lise of guest taps from Ontario breweries hundreds of miles apart.......and a little Innus & Gunn to represent Scotland. The third page is filled with choices for your guest if you were earning Wifepoints on a date night.

IMG_7358.jpg

Pretty cool to see Black Swan Brewing from my home town on the menu along side of some of my other favourites.

IMG_7353.jpg

This was a boys trip though so we opted for some of the in-house brewed goodness. Mine is the Double Lunatic Fridge which, as expected, was everything the regular IPA was but double. Higher ABV, hoppiness and flavour without being obnoxious. So damn good. My buddy went with the entertainingly named JACQUE STRAPPE - LONDON LAGER as he is a 'lanwmower beer' kinda guy. Light and crisp and clean and good enough to pass his strict no-hops policy.

Some food to accompany your main course?

IMG_7354.jpg

Part of me found it funny that there was 3 pages of drinks, yet only 1 page of food. The other part was a little annoyed at how hard it was to pick a dish from that huge block of text. Snacks, salads, in-house smoked meat and street tacos are fairly good variety but I was informed that pizza was the specialty. Being hungry and happy enough with pizza, I had to choose between Traditional and Modern.

IMG_7356.jpg

We went with the Wild Mushroom & Brie which boasted 3 kinds of mushrooms and a cheese that would satisfy a hipster who longed to be different. The picture really doesn't do it justice most likely because of the blue television low light.

Dramatic Close Up Shot!

IMG_7357.jpg

Here is my patented super zoom which is designed to get me sideways looks from the foodie haters in the place, and make it feel as if I am shoving your face right into my plate. You get a better idea of the glistening goodness as the cheese and mushrooms cuddle so elegantly. I recall it being quite tasty but not really lasting long after we had spent hours on the golf course prior to our arrival.

Zeke's Final Verdict

IMG_7360.jpg

The ZFV on this one is "Pretty Damn Good" Truth be told, the beer was good enough to make everything else not matter that much. Having enjoyed Lunatic Fridge for so many years, it was very satisfying to see this place so poised for a good local experience and a good destination for out-of-towners.

IMG_7390.jpg

To commemorate the momentous occasion of our long-overdue union, I had to visit the bottle shop. I rewarded my sane fridge at home with a few Double Lunatic Fridges and a nice IPA from which I could enjoy a fantastic beer.

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

It is this beerologist's humble opinion that you visit Toboggan Brewery, and create some @tasteem reviews of your own


Restaurant Information


Toboggan Brewing Co.
score
585 Richmond St, London, ON N6A 3G2, Canada


🍻Toboggan Brewery - A Zeke Tasteem Review!©🍻
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Wild mushroom pizza looks great!

Thanks for sharing with us via Tasteem: https://tasteem.io

Keep up your great work!
#tasteem-curation

Regards,
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

Thanks ang! I have been using tasteem so long I can’t remember my first post. Such a great platform that should be used for #beersaturday and all those folks should be using tasteem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks very good. Unfortunately I wasn't able to stop by any breweries while in Canada. Maybe next time.

Well now you know a Canadian beerologist. Next time you visit we will go.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post, and now I am hungry and thirsty!! The place really looks great, I love it when they have a big choice of beers like this one!!

Indeed!

I had no idea what to expect because I heard literally no buzz or spoilers as nobody talks about Toboggan. What a pleasant surprise to find an incredible amount of guest taps and top-notch establishment.

Would recommend!

How you been bro?

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Wtf.. no Rolling Rock beer? That place sucks 🤣

Congrats on 65/1000!!! Well done! I am always a fan of the dramatic close up!!

A Beers contest on @tasteem! I'm in... but sadly, most of my saved restaurants that I have on my list are when I'm working... and I have no beer. Maybe I have to make for a special occasion...

Anyway, this place does look like a fine place to drop into! Some crazy labelling...

Looks like a great time . I just went to angry orchard upstate recently with a group of friends ... but the brewery in the bronx was def more fun !

I am prone to mixing psilocybe mushrooms into my pizza recipes...

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49