25th Tasteemiversary! - A Special Zeke Tasteem Review!

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


25 Tasteem reviews is a special milestone marked by a very special restaurant. So, I am making this a very special review loaded with photographs from a shoot we did last week.

Some of the things that makes this extra special:

  • We were able to sample the whole menu instead of just one dish
  • It was a photo shoot so nobody gave Ol' Zeke any weird looks for photographing his food
  • The restaurant is one of a kind and the food is pretty damn special
  • There is a brand new chef and brand new menu you pretty much get to swim in with all the pics in this post.

newrhmenu.jpg

Here is the new menu. I have a picture of it but thought it best to use the one I have permission to use from the gracious restaurant owner Rob.

Andrew and Rob kept it quite simple as the food itself is a mixture of the fanciest comfort food you will ever eat, and the most approachable gourmet delicacies you will find. Appetizers, Charcuterie & Cheese, and Mains is about as straight-forward and non-pretentious as you can get.

I am going to let the photos speak for themselves with small descriptions as words can't really do the dishes justice.

Drinks

IMG_7632.jpg

This customized Moscow Mule sweats to nicely for the camera!

IMG_7627.jpg

An assortment of specialy cocktails you can actually get in a sample flight!

IMG_7606.jpg

Berry delicious looking beverages.

IMG_7630.jpg

As a Beerologist, of COURSE I have to include a selection of beer.

Appetizers

IMG_7635.jpg

I never imagined liking Steak Tartare but man was I wrong. SO great with a wonderful texture and I now love this in the same way I do sushi. Check out those super thin lattice cut potatoes!

IMG_7634.jpg

The Caesar Salad was brought home and earned me some great wife points later on.

IMG_7621.JPG

Beet Salad. So photogenic. The Fondant was so neat and new for me.

IMG_7615.jpg

Soup of the day with an excited bit of green garnish.

IMG_7611.jpg

Steamed Mussels. Not my thing but seafood lovers crow about this delicacy.

IMG_7617.jpg

Mushroom on Toast! So yummy.

Charcuterie & Cheese

IMG_7610.jpg
Indeed a selection of house-made pate, terrine, locally cured meats, Canadian cheese, chutney pickles and grilled bread.

IMG_7609.jpg

It can be ordered a la carte which makes it so easy to have everything you like.

Mains

IMG_7654.JPG

The steak was not included in the lunch time photo shoot but I snapped a pic of it later the next evening when we did the photo shoot with all the people.

IMG_7655.JPG

Same with the burger (which used to be called the Holy Burger.)

IMG_7657.JPG

This would be the Zeke Holy Burger where I added a little of the Blue Cheese to give it that over-the-top flavour.

IMG_7623.JPG

Spaghetti Carbonara. When we sat down to eat after the shoot, I REALLY loved this one and ate too much for lunch.

IMG_7620.JPG

The Big Bowl Salad is as photogenic as the appetizer and twice as filling.

IMG_7624.jpg

I think the healthy thick-sliced bacon would be enough but the chicken added to this would make it a really full and balanced meal.

The Chef and his bounty

IMG_7646.jpg

Chef Andrew is such a down-to-earth guy with an incredible talent. Being a chef, you have to assemble the menu like a complex work of art meant to satisfy every vegan, carnivore, exotic adventurist, conservative minimalist and everything in between. In addition to being good at that as a core skillset, you have to be able to help run the business, not take yourself too seriously, and make things happen for management, staff and clientelle. Andrew is all of that.

Bonus shots!

As if a great sampling of the entire menu wasn't enough, I will leave you with some combination shots I snapped with my iphone while the real photagrapher did his thing.

IMG_7638.jpg

IMG_7653.jpg

IMG_7647.jpg

IMG_7640.jpg

IMG_7639.jpg

IMG_7636.jpg

IMG_7625.jpg

IMG_7607.jpg

By now, you have either stopped reading or are begging me to stop as your stomach growls at you in hostility for not having been to the Revival House yet. You will be too full for dessert and I will save that for another review.

In the meantime, I will rate this A Real Gem, but I really don't want to keep it a secret!

I don't post on Tasteeem for the contest rewards. I do it for the neat platform, supportive community, and hope that this will take off and launch me into foodie blogger stardom. That being said, if I don't win this weekly contest, I likely never will because it wont get any better than this.

zekepickleman.jpg

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnAudsvw6WDTpHnJA.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Restaurant Information


Revival House - Stratford
score
70 Brunswick St, Stratford, ON N5A 3M1, Canada


25th Tasteemiversary! - A Special Zeke Tasteem Review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hmm a church turned into a restaurant? Very interesting and I love the concept. As for the food.......that is what I call a feast. I can't even decide what I like the most. I love the mussels but the steak would probably get all my attention. What I would like to know is how was the holy burger?

Burger was so damn good. They serve it medium because of the grade of beef is so good.

Top notch burger.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting how Moscow Mule was the first thing that comes to mind when looking at that copper cup. Quite iconic. I wonder what else is made and served in one of those. Seems if you want make a drink that stands out make sure people only serve it in a special container.

Yah such a neat thing. I don’t know any other drinks served in copper cups. Makes it actually taste different too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This was, without a doubt a top-shelf review! I loved it and I want your steamed mussels! I will send you my address. With a side of beet salad. I love the way he dishes them up and the presentation is first class!

Thank you for sharing with us! This was awesome!!!

!tip .20

It is great to be able to bring my friends from across the world to these great places via the blockchain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We love it too!!!! That was better than yummy!

Genuinely first class :D

This is an awesome post, and that looks like some awesome freaking food! Especially the beer.

@zekepickleman

What a magnificent setting and I really like that menu. Well balanced and the food looks absolutely scrumptious. I am so glad I looked at it after lunch. I've started intermittent fasting so have been skipping breakfast... I am now drooling over those photographs. Gottago or else my keyboard will drown!! lol

Happy 25th Tasteemiversary! Everything just looks so delicious! I love how you took your photos. Thanks for sharing this review with us!

Congratulations @zekepickleman! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

oh zeck how many of you ate there? Why the food so many? I think you promoted this post before in the ramble, right? That berry drinks, I will never ever forget that delicious juice.

Andrew took care of that food, as in all of it? I'll stop watching the food because there's no way I can eat like this. It's very fancy..

sorry my upvote is just too small.hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95