Cheap and Fabulous '矮仔財滷肉飯' at a Taiwanese local market in Beitou. So fat yet so good!

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image

Unexpected Beitou's Taiwanese food!

Oh my god! You have no idea what I just went for just a few days ago. I actually didn't expect that coming either! I was expecting Hot springs! as the town we went to, Beitou, is famous for its hot springs! I hadn't known their street food was also popular until we got there and my local friend, Neal, told me it was! ( My sentences are not so confusing, aren't they? LOL)

This one that we've been to, I would probably not consider it as 'Street food' though. As it's not on the street and also, it had a proper section just for it.. I considered it a 'restaurant'. Not a fancy one.. you know, we're writing 'Cheap and Fabulous' post!

矮仔財滷肉飯

You know that it's real local when there's not even English name for it on Google maps. The place located at a market in the very old building. Hidden on the 2nd floor.


Check out the real vibes from this mini vlog!


Taiwanese dishes

Let me also just mention the price as well as this is actually for @tasteem's contest 'Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible! ' so prices matter!


- Lu Rou Fan (25 NTD = 0.80 USD)

Let me explain the local dish called 'Lu Rou Fan'.. The Taiwanese traditional dish. It's basically a braised pork rice with the sweet brown sauce tastes intensively sweet and salty on top of steamed rice. The dish's sold all over the country! They really do eat it! and yes, this place we went to is famous for the dish!

y3gt6ncop8.jpg


- Pork feet in sweet brown sauce (50 NTD = 1.6 USD )

Oh my gosh! If you haven't eaten pork feet just yet, try so! Well, not everybody would love it, though, I do! It's just so fat and flavorful. I love the moment I start chewing it and all the fat just spread in my mouth! The texture also.. it's like soft and chewy at the same time. Plus the taste of the sauce is just so delicious. I even like this one more than 'Lu Rou Fan' itself. No kiddin'!

They eat it with shredded ginner and the fermented tofu red sauce which go together well.

m480hje0pk.jpg


- Egg and tofu in sweet brown sauce (20 NTD = 0.65 USD)

This one they sell it for 10 NTD each. I love tofu and I'm sure a lot of you love eggs. Same sauce as the other things above.

nsp787ayf1.jpg

- Winter melon Soup (45 NTD = 1.45 USD)

All the grease you eat.. yes, all those fatty piece in the brown sauce LOL This is the thing that would help clean out your throat before start another spoonful of pork feet. I know it's kinda weird eating hot soup in such a hot weather but I'm used to it!

The soft winter melon is soooo good! and it's sure good for health. Oh, actually it cools you down so that's actually good food for the day heat!

r37nuasv8w.jpg

All the dishes we got! Can't believe we paid 4.5 USD!!!!!!!

Yes, you heard (read) that right! Amazing, ain't it. The food's really good, really. I would totally go back to Beitou just for the pork feet!

d4ioz1l4uy.jpg


Cooking station..

I would like to just show you some of the photos of the spot where they cook the food. There's just only one guy cooking and prepare all the food. Though, they have a few waitresses. The chef was just so serious and didn't even smile once! Literally! LOL He's fast also like, chop chop!

rzkbkrxm98.jpg

pvp4321584.jpg


Popular food in Beitou

I also want to show you the vibes and the environment of the place so you know I was not kidding when I say 'it's popular/famous' Look at all the people! Yes, they're all locals. The place was so packed and we had to wait in line for almost 20 mins to be able to order.

imcv1zsgoq.jpg

el27m9t4pw.jpg


No English menu. Told you, it's local!

g4tnwxbfmt.png

Bonus! 高記茶莊

Cheap and fabulous Taiwanese Tea..

It's located in the same market so I might as well just let you know. In case you go visit, finish the pork feet place and feel thirsty! This place is just also locally famous and it's reasonable priced!

7htgeleeps.jpg

I order this big cup of tea (as you can see, it's bigger than my whole head!). The mixture of Green tea and Oolong tea ( 40 NTD = 1.3 USD ). It's a bit sweet but you know, in the heat, you just need it!

kvukul0e8m.jpg



Oh my! I love the food and I love the drink. Beitou was real chill as it's really not a hectic city like Taipei. You could totally go there to check it out for a day or two. Yes! Yes! Try the pork feet!!!! It's so so sooo good!


Lots of lots of love,
Mo ❤


https://steemit.com/@waybeyondpadthai
https://www.waybeyondpadthai.com

banner.png


We would love to talk to you ! Come say Hi ! on Fundition Discord server | eSteem Discord server

@waybeyondpadthai on Steemit | Fundition Angel
Join a community where you could spread the love**
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

It's almost STEEM FEST 3! Consider using my referal links for.. CHEAP FLIGHTS | INEXPENSIVE PLACES TO STAY | OH YEAH!




FOUND THIS POST LOCALLY FAT?

RESTEEEEEM!!!! XOXO


Restaurant Information


矮仔財滷肉飯
score
112, Taiwan, Taipei City, Beitou District, Xinshi Street, 30號436號攤位市場二樓


Cheap and Fabulous '矮仔財滷肉飯' at a Taiwanese local market in Beitou. So fat yet so good!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I can say you did love this one session of food intake! :D
hahahaha!
FOOD IS LIFE!!! <3

yea from the looks already I can tell that this food is good AF! :D

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @waybeyondpadthai, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @waybeyondpadthai!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=waybeyondpadthai
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-b00484


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

เก่งจังเลยไปเที่ยวทั่วเลยนะครับ ติดตามตลอดคับ

ขอบคุณมากค่ะ :) :) ❤️

The food is very cheap there, and it makes me happy :)
And when steem up back 10 $... I can go there and try it :)
Make more good posts :)

Hahaha I'm waiting to the day too or even when it's $50 ! No kiddin! ❤️

Ah :))) Hey I think same some times... what then if it go some day up 50... how we all can accept it and how we all post then :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47