Kettledrum Inn - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


After watching @bingbabe do yet another Tuesday evening trail run in Burnley, Lancashire we were a little hungry and headed for the local pub, ‘The Crooked Billet’ (Worsthorne) in search of food.

After entering and finding it to be an old fashioned pub for just for drinkers, we left. These places still exist and keep trading?

The name is great, but besides being offered Pie and Peas and bags of crisps we were out of luck.

Just ‘down the road’ is another pub named, ‘The Kettledrum’. I haven’t frequented this one since a first date in 1989 so didn’t know what to expect.

IMG_9106.jpg

The car park on departure. Not as full, but still containing substantial amounts of motor vehicles for a Tuesday evening.

We pulled into their car park and struggled to park. One spot was available out of around 25 which placed me in a state of confusion.

It’s Tuesday night, that’s the day after Monday.... It’s supposed to be almost empty.

There were even people milling around outside, and I was thinking, 1) It’s an organised event, or 2) The place is truly fantastic.

Hoping for the latter we entered.

IMG_9095.jpg

Inside was dimly lit and very busy. So busy that I was having issues taking photographs without attracting undue attention.

We were led to a table next to 4 girls who all looked around 16 years old, all with designer bags of £800-£1200 each.

IMG_9101.jpg

@bingbabe is a bit of a ‘designer bag expert' and told me that there were no fakes from the dodgy markets to be seen; these were real.

So the place was full of rich kids? Worse was a couple of them were facing me directly.

They weren't bad looking, but on the odd occasion, I looked their way they glared back with disdain and derision.

’I’m a dirty old man because I dare to glance over.’

So it wasn’t an entirely comfortable atmosphere I conceded. I opened the menu and had a glance through.

IMG_9091.jpg

Surely this old pub was busy for a reason, and not just a haunt for under-aged blonde bimbos wanting to drink beer and flash their expensive handbags.

IMG_9093.jpg

The ‘Smaller Portions for Smaller Appetites’ was a welcome addition, but I felt a little gluttonous that evening opting for the BIG Cheese and Onion Pie at £10.75, with @bingbabe ordering the BIG Sea Bass at £14.95.

IMG_9092.jpg

Was that Mouldy Chicken, I spotted on the menu? Er, no thanks!

A couple of glasses of Coke brought the total to £28 or so; those drinks seemed cheap!

Service was fast and within 15 minutes I was looking at this.

IMG_9097.jpg

I didn’t order the small version, so why was my plate half empty, or is that half full?

I called the waitress over and contested my half-empty plate.

’Yes, that is the full and complete Cheese and Onion Pie’, she claimed.

Christ, what’s the smaller version look like then, one mouthful and it’s gone?

IMG_9098.jpg

@bingbabe’s Sea Bass also had plenty of room on the plate.

Perhaps they should get some smaller plates in an attempt to fool everyone that there is in fact, A LOT of food.

IMG_9094.jpg

Undaunted and quite famished, I tucked into the pie and almost experienced nirvana.

This was a hell of a tasty pie, and in this case, looks are not everything. The oozing cheese was perfect, the pastry golden and complimentary.

Meanwhile, @bingbabe was equally loving the Sea Bass, going as far as saying, ‘This is the best I have ever tasted’. High words indeed from the queen of food criticism.

IMG_9103.jpg

We had discovered at this point just why The Kettledrum was packed on a Tuesday night when there was no obvious reason for it to be so.

The rich young bimbos had left by the time we were finished and so I tried to take some snaps of the inner Kettledrum.

Still, it was busy and I had to be careful or else risk a ‘chinning' by the locals.

Chinning – definition (To receive a slug to the chin for taking photographs of people without permission, whether it be unintended or otherwise).

IMG_9104.jpg

I felt satisfied on exiting The Kettledrum. Despite the size of the potion and oversized plate, it was delivered on, it was the right amount of food.

Even better we have discovered a local gem, and I do not doubt in my mind there's a better eatery in the town of Burnley.

IMG_9105.jpg

We will be back very shortly, but I’m still not going for that Mouldy Chicken.


Restaurant Information


Kettledrum Inn
score
Kettledrum Inn, 302 Red Lees Rd, Burnley BB10 4RG, UK


Kettledrum Inn - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

You guys, indeed are king and queen of food criticism. :)

About the plate, I think the big plate is a part of food art but unfortunately, their presentation looks not good. :D



Thanks for sharing with us via Tasteem: https://tasteem.io

Keep up your great work!
#tasteem-curation

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.588 which ranks you at #1934 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 94 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I would be very disappointed by that "plateful" and the chips don't look great either, but I'll take your word for it that it was great! @bingbabe's sea bass does look fantastic, and a good portion of fish, though it could do with a few more potatoes or chips.
I'm sure the chicken is not mouldy, but if I saw that on a menu it might ruin my appetite!

The spuds and wotnot were hidden under the fish. Seems like the thing to do now. Is it some scheme to keep the food warmer longer?

I'm a sucker for fine food and blonde babes with expensive bags!

Ah but 'the good lady' was sitting right next to me,.. and these were almost jail-bait!

I have been in similar situations, yeeks! Sounds like a top place though, worth another visit defo ;O)

Yes, will be going back. At weekends there's probably a long queue outside!

A young queue! You might have to get the fake tan on!

It makes my mouth to water by just reading the items in the menu, considering that I have no appetite @slobberchops

Is it that you have no appetite, or eating makes you ill? I have read a few things you posted that says both.

Appetiteloss was the side-effect of one of my medicines.
Yes it makes me ill to eat because toxins are a by-product too of eating and I couldn't have much of food lest I will feel bloated and nauseated, that is if I could eat that much.

Nice one. I get irritated by small portions also but at least it was wonderful tasting!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was! looks don't always perceive the taste or quality.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 10.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I love this places, nice food, fair prices and far from the noise of the cities

It's around 3 miles from the closest town. A good find, many I review are not so good and I tell what I find!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Beautifully well written review and that fish looks awesome... Thank you for sharing your experience with us...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81