Shajan - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


I don’t eat much Indian food these days. Its not that I dislike it, more my body doesn’t like it. It tends to be very rich and I suffer somewhat if I’m not careful.

‘That’s the perils of getting old.’

IMG_5706.jpg

Therefore, visits to our favourite Indian restaurant, ‘Shajan’ are relatively uncommon. We did make a visit quite recently and as this place is so good, I need to give it a review.

It was dark when we arrived which makes for bad outside photographs. In the UK, you don’t tend to visit ‘Indians’ during the daytime. They are usually closed.

IMG_5708.jpg

‘Shajan’ is quite plush inside and there is a cloakroom for excess outdoor wear if you want to use it. I for one prefer to keep my jacket close beside me.

IMG_5709.jpg

We came early as per normal and the restaurant was far from full.

IMG_5710.jpg

IMG_5711.jpg

The menu is held in a reflective book which doesn’t take to well to photographs, so apologies for the glare on these shots.

IMG_5712.jpg

IMG_5713.jpg

It’s always a case of papadums or no papadums when we visit.

They are light and look like large crips (potato chips) which is fine, but when you get the accompaniments and start dumping them on top they can get quite substantial.

IMG_5716.jpg

IMG_5715.jpg

In this case we ordered just one each as they are just too tempting to resist.

Some diners can manage papadums, starter and a main course but that starter was not going to happen for us.

IMG_5714.jpg

Next it was the beer, Cobra or Kingfisher? I really should stick with the latter as it seems to not give me any reflux problems, but this time opted for the Cobra.

I won’t be drinking it again and will learn from this experience.

IMG_5724.jpg

@bingbabe chose the Sea Bass (that’s not Indian food) and me, the King Prawn Balti (this is!). I never have rice as an accompaniment much preferring Peshwari naan. For the uneducated, this is naan bread with coconut.

IMG_5723.jpg

IMG_5725.jpg

Naan bread is famous for exploding once devoured and making you feel over full and uncomfortable.

This type is even worse but tastes fantastic if you’re a coconut fiend like me.

IMG_5718.jpg

Service is always good at Shajan with no unnecessary waiting.

I did get up from my seat while waiting to take some more snaps and these guys behind the bar didn’t seem too impressed.

IMG_5720.jpg

Every time I visit Shajan, I always end up with a Balti. They are not the mildest of curries, but don’t have too much of a bite. I really should try something else next time.

IMG_5722.jpg

What I will say is they are extremely tasty, and this visit was no exception. The depth of flavours entering your taste buds make you keep coming back for more.

IMG_5719.jpg

Balance some of that curry on to your naan, shove it in your mouth and its like a little mini heaven for a minute.

@bingbabe seemed to enjoy the Sea Bass, though she usually orders Fish Jol which is a more traditional dish.

I think she tried the ‘Bass’ this time as she struggles to finish the ‘Jol’. The portions can be a little large.

IMG_5726.jpg

£41 for the two of us I consider excellent value. There are Indian restaurants closer to where we live but they simply can’t match the quality of Shajan.

IMG_5727.jpg

Writing this review, is making me think of another visit soon, maybe next week?


Restaurant Information


Shajan
score
Longsight Rd, Blackburn BB1 9EX, UK


Shajan - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Another great review from you.Great details and photos. I love papadums and can munch on them the whole day!

Nice review! I have always wanted to try Indian food, but I have can have a temperamental stomach at times so I have never been brave enough to try it. I always say when I do we need to right home afterwards. No shopping, no dinner and a show... just in case :) The food looks great and I do love a good naan! Thanks for sharing.

It doesn't go too well with me sometimes, but as I remember 'Indians' were not common at all in the US. Is this still the case?

Depends on where you live. Probably not where you were living. I live near the Dow Corporation's headquarters so we have lots of multi-national families living in and around the area. I think because of that we have more than usual for not being a big city. In fact I think the town has two or three of them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Too old for Indian food? What a horrible thought! My dad didn't lose his taste for Indian food until he was well into his 80s, really a few months before he died.
That meal looks AMAZING, and incredible value! It makes me want to head for the nearest Indian restaurant - why is it so long since I've been to one? I'm off to Braemar this weekend, with a couple of friends. I'm going to see if it has any Indian restaurants.

I love it but its so rich and doesn't go well with this complaining shell of a body. I used to do Indians all the time when I was younger, its kind of staple food, or was.

Ah - maybe you need to just make your own then.

I will have the Indian green curry yum yum!!

And pfft, tell your body to behave, curries address for all ages!!

I used to be OK with them.. I wont be able to eat Salad soon.. it gets worse the longer you are 'here'.

Oh man, that sounds delightful. What joys ahead!! :0D

This looks lovely. Those guys behind the bar, though!
I can understand why you always go for the balti. For me, it's a chicken jalfrezi. My friend and I used to go about once a month after payday and I found myself longing for a jalfrezi as the time got nearer. It wasn't until much later I learned that chillis are very addictive. That explained everything.
I like popadums but you are right, you have to make sure they don't take over the show.
Peshwari naan is heaven :)

I had no idea that Chillis' were addictive! Yes.. the guys behind the bar.. I need to be more careful or I'll get a thump.

Yes ... you can almost see what they're thinking.

Excellent review
I think it is MSG monosodium glutamate which is used excessively by many Indian restaurants

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 407 (02/21/19)

I never check my coat. Looks very nice and yes that is one of the many perils of aging!

Quite ballsy taking a shot of the unimpressed guys at the bar!

I would try that place. Good review!

They might get into trouble with the boss for doing any more than giving me dual glares.. haha..

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 7.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56