Cloud 23 – Manchester, England

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


@bingbabe has been asking me to take her to this restaurant for a while now, and as it’s her birthday TODAY I thought we would take a visit.

It is on the 23rd floor of the Hilton Hotel in central Manchester, a very skinny building as you can see.

IMG_2353.JPG

Entering the elevator we could only choose ‘23’ as our destination. This must be a special lift just for the diners.

This place is not cheap; you pay for the view and what a view it is! We picked a lovely day and so got some great viewing over urban Manchester. You can even see the hills of the Peak District in the background.

IMG_2358.JPG

IMG_2359.JPG

IMG_2360.JPG

IMG_2372.JPG

IMG_2378.JPG

They do need to clean some of the windows though; you can see the dirt at on at least one of my shots.

IMG_2379.JPG

We ordered TWO afternoon tea’s weighing in at £25 each. The menu didn’t highlight exactly what was included but our waitress was kind enough to write it all down for us.

IMG_2356.JPG

IMG_2382.JPG

IMG_2364.JPG

A few sandwiches, cakes and unlimited tea, coffee and hot chocolate were all available in the deal. This is what we got and it seemed like it would not fill us up at all.

IMG_2375.JPG

IMG_2380.JPG

Quite the contrary actually, we were quite stuffed after eating all this food. I wouldn’t call it healthy though!

The food was nice, though a little more of the savoury and less cakes might have been better, but it was afternoon tea so that means cream teas.

IMG_2383.JPG

This particular tartlet had me a little confused. I thought its’ base to be of a ceramic nature until @bingbabe bit into hers and didn’t suffer broken teeth.

IMG_2377.JPG

The seats close to the edge afforded a sheer drop but as thick glass was between us I suffered no vertigo.

IMG_2368.JPG

Parties that had more than 2 people were not offered the window seats, and had to sit further inside. I think a few of these parties were a little disgruntled at this.

IMG_2366.JPG

IMG_2374.JPG

I was to fault Cloud 23, it would be to say that it was too hot sat next to this window that was more like an incubator. There was a little air conditioning but not enough for this day.

I had to visit the bathroom several times to douse my arms and face in cold water in an attempt to cool off.

Speaking of which, the bathroom facilities were very plush, and with tasteful modern décor, and someone had a sense of humour.

IMG_2369.JPG

IMG_2370.JPG

IMG_2371.JPG

I would recommend a visit to Cloud 23, but probably would not visit again. The views are the selling point but it needs to be a clear day to appreciate them.

IMG_2385.JPG

The waitress service was excellent, the food good but it will be a one time only visit for us.


Restaurant Information


Coud 23
score
Manchester, UK


Cloud 23 – Manchester, England
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Great view..To bad of the airco. I am very warmblooded myself :) so if it is hot at a restaurant of shop, I am out quite fast :)

Oh my! Who cares about the views - those cakes look AMAZING!
I'm vaguely planning a walking and scrambling trip to the Peak District, and I think we'd deserve a good cream tea afterwards. Maybe with bubbly too. It would be fun to watch some of the punters who indulge in the "Free flowing afternoon tea"!

Looks absolutely amazing. What a fabulous view. Happy birthday @bingbabe for yesterday! :)

She's still celebrating, her birthday tends to last for the full month, not just one day :)

Many happy returns @bingbabe.

That looks a pretty cool place...from a distance. I don't do heights particularly well and I also struggle with elevators.

Tea and scones with clotted cream may tempt me though...two of my most favourite things in the world!

At least you got to try it once. The food looked pretty decent. I never realized there was a such a variety of black tea. It is getting more common over here, but obviously not like over there. I really like it when I have had the chance to have it.

There is a lot of Black Tea on that menu isnt there! I didnt notice until you pointed it out. Im more a regular Tea and Coffe drinker. They were pushing Tea and Coffee on us all afternoon, there was no shortage.

That is awesome. Like I said, it is hard to find a place with good black tea here. I just ended up buying my own and I drink it iced sometimes. I am sure it is nothing like over there though.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-9e37e6


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

This looks a lovely place to spend the afternoon. Oh, heavens a cream tea, sounds lovely. No carbs for me though :( but next I'm in UK the first thing I am going to splurge my carbs on is a Devonshire cream tea! Mmm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71