Ninos, The Fighting Cocks Inn - Burnley

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Yes, the sign says Cliviger, but Burnley is a major town and just a stone throw away so the title will remain steadfast.

IMG_4063.JPG

We have been looking to try this restaurant for some time now. It’s one of those that keep closing down and opening up under new management, but it appears to be getting some good feedback on TripAdvisor in its latest incarnation.

IMG_4064.JPG

IMG_4086.JPG

The first thing I noticed was the size of the building. It’s big, and the car par is just as big, with room to eat outside too during nice weather.

IMG_4065.JPG

Being Saturday lunchtime, the place was far from full. Just how we like it!

IMG_4070.JPG

I took several photographs of the interior getting some attention from the staff.

IMG_4066.JPG

IMG_4074.JPG

After explaining I was a blogger and I would send them the review of their restaurant, they seemed to relax a little. I get this quite often.

IMG_4067.JPG

The menu was very small and there were not a lot of choices.

I’m quite sure this is a lunchtime option only, as there were other dishes ‘not available’ to eat during these times on another menu.

IMG_4069.JPG

Initially I thought the prices were a little high, but to me it’s the quality that counts. 'Is the food good?', is the important fact.

@bingbabe and I ordered the same thing, ‘Steak & Onion Sandwich’ at £10.50, and as an accompaniment, a side of Garlic Mushrooms to share.

The sandwich stated that it comes with ‘crisps’ (Potato chips to US readers), but we wanted chips (French fries to US readers), and they duly accommodated us at no extra charge; always a nice
touch!

IMG_4077.JPG

The service was good; around 15 minutes to get our food delivered is very acceptable to me, but what of the food quality?

The Garlic Mushrooms looked awesome, and they tasted just as good. The sauce was made in a cheesy thick style with some added parsley and plenty of garlic.

IMG_4078.JPG

The Sandwiches were chunky and filling, the chips crispy and cooked just how I like them. The skins had been partially left on, something I’m usually not so keen on but the taste was lovely.

IMG_4080.JPG

We finished all that garlic sauce dipping our sandwiches and chips into it repeatedly, what a combination!

IMG_4075.JPG

There were a couple of other families in the restaurant but large parts of it were quite deserted.

I can imagine it getting very full in the evenings, and with several rooms to choose from there’s variety of seating.

IMG_4081.JPG

The kitchen is quite open for viewing which is another nice feature. It’s always good to see what’s going on behind the scenes.

There’s some tasteful décor around the restaurant, photos on the walls, books and ornaments and of course the usual ‘restaurant’ easy going music playing along.

IMG_4076.PNG

Free WiFi is always a good bonus; it wasn’t very quick but required no sign up page. Just connect and go plus a Five Star Food Hygiene rating is really required now to get diners attention.

IMG_4082.JPG

At just over £30 for 2 people that includes 2 Coke’s, a starter and two sandwiches, you might think that it is expensive.

That really depends what you value, food or quality food. We left feeling very full.

Ninos, The Fighting Cocks is a quality diner and one we will be returning to. It will be Garlic Mushrooms again for sure, but we may try another main course next time.


Restaurant Information


Ninos, The Fighting Cocks Inn
score
308 Red Lees Rd, Burnley BB10 4RQ, UK


Ninos, The Fighting Cocks Inn - Burnley
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Hello i'm tasteem supporter @siamcat . i'm struck with quality posting. So tasteem gave a special present to you. We are looking forward to see your wonderful posting in the future.

Sounds good. As a Londoner the price would be normal, but not cheap for Burnley. The food looks great, nice pics, and nice view of the interior, looks seriously spacious. I hate eating in pubs when you find yourselves elbow to elbow with other diners (unless I'm there for a drink only, then the more the merrier).

On an aside, had a girlfriend from Bradford who's nan was from Burnley (this was 25 years ago), the only person in Yorkshire I could not understand. I swear her accent was so strong, as well as using terms I had never heard, it was like a foreign language. I felt like and idiot, and just smiled and said yes to everything lol

Those Garlic Mushrooms look AMAZING!!! I always have to wait until after 12pm before reading your posts now because my eating window doesn't open until then and you always make me hungry! haha
As for the cost, I think £30 is reasonable for the food and drinks that you had, especially as the quality was good. I'd probably save it for a special occasion though, not just a quick bite to eat :)
Great Post SC! :D

Thanks @beautifulbullies, sorry for the lack of interaction recently. I get home and there's a ton of Steemit for me to do every night! I'm knackered.

The restaurant looks great, great atmosphere. And about prices...yeah, things are getting more expensive, but indeed if the quality is good I don't mind paying a few extra euro's..

This looks like a really comfortable pleasant place to eat. I wasn't sure from the menu whether I would fancy anything, but the food looked gorgeous - those chips! and the mushrooms! The price came in my usual budget for a meal and the meal looked well worth it.

The mushys were something special, its all about the sauce!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Nice write up! The mushrooms look amazing! The sandwich looks good too. I always forget to take pictures when we go to new places. For example we went to a place I haven't been in a while this weekend. I took pictures of the outside and our beers and then I totally blanked when our food came and I have no shots from that. It feels like such a waste :) This place looks like my kind of place though.

You should try the @tasteem compo's, just take lot of pics and do a good write up. I know you are well capable, and they reward well.

Yeah, I always forget to take a picture of the outside of the place and that is like one of the first things they say they expect so I usually can't use Tasteem as much as I would like.

Nice place indeed...Though you decided to get a Steem “rest”
Cheers

holy 30?! I think my time in Romania ruined my sense of what is cheap and pricey. Here a full meal plus a beer would not even go over 10 dollars :D.
(and that would be the pricey meals). Nontheless, it looks bloddy good mate!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-9ac3bb


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12