Bertram's - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


Bertrams of Burnley is a restaurant of two parts. Downstairs is more family orientated, while upstairs is the finer dining area.

IMG_5456.jpg

Being attached to a spa yields many diners dressed in what I would describe as ‘white gowns’ if you visit in the daytime.

IMG_5436.jpg

Gaining an outside shot of Bertrams is difficult, especially in the dark. You simply enter the lift and go right up. This has changed since we last ate here.

The cover shot is an actual photograph of the lit up outside sign though you would not think so.

IMG_5437.jpg

I think there is some deal for a daily spa session with food included. It has been quite some time since we visited Bertrams as we had, not a bad meal, rather we had started to eat too frequently there.

IMG_5438.jpg

An evening at Bertrams hosts more regular diners and none of those robed types. The entrance had been completely revamped since our last visit, and so we entered the lift which now appears to be the only way in.

IMG_5439.jpg

This restaurant has always boasted a chic interior and nothing had changed in that respect. There were few other diners as we entered, and I noticed they had added a middle-aged crooner to the staff.

How romantic for a Valentine’s dine!

IMG_5455.jpg

To be honest, he was not a bad singer, but I always feel like I'm paying extra for these kinds of ‘services' whether I like it or not.

IMG_5443.jpg

@bingbabe ordered a mocktail and myself a pint of Pravha. I have to take my chances with beer on whether I’m going to get ill while drinking it, never mind the day after.

Fortunately, this beer appeared to be accepted by my very picky system.

IMG_5440.jpg

We decided to go double on the fish that evening, with a Grilled Fillet of Plaice at £17.95 for me and Pan Seared Seabass Fillet at £17.50 for @bingbabe.

IMG_5441.jpg

Some Cheese Garlic Bread at £6.50 was also ordered as a shared starter.

Service was decent at Bertrams and I can’t remember anything out the ordinary happening.

The Garlic Bread was delivered promptly and wow, did it look and taste good!

IMG_5445.jpg

After that amazing starter, I was hoping for something equally good to be served for the main courses.

I stupidly ordered a side of fries instead of replacing the potatoes, resulting in a glut of food arriving shortly after.

A few other diners started arriving including a couple who sat next to us. Then the looks started. I don’t know whether it’s me being with someone from the far east but we get this quite often.

It’s 2019 for fuck sake, get with the times and stop the racist shit’, is something I sometimes would like to blurt out to these people.

But that didn’t happen, and we simply have to endure it, time after time.

IMG_5447.jpg

My Plaice (fish) does exist under all that sauce and veg!

IMG_5448.jpg

@bingbabe’s Seabass was much more visible and we added the fries and sweet fries and tucked into the food leaving the unwanted potatoes behind.

IMG_5449.jpg

The food was good, but not fantastic which is similar to what I remember from previous years.

Bertrams is close to the top of the TripAdvisor reviews in this area, but food is so subjective to opinion that you can only get an idea of quality from reading these.

IMG_5452.jpg

We felt a little sorry for the discarded potatoes so asked for a ‘doggy bag’ so we could take them home. They obliged with this very fancy box complete with logos.

IMG_5454.jpg

Sixty quid is an expensive meal, especially when there is no wine included.

Bertrams is not a cheap place to eat nor is it a bad pace. The food is quality but you do pay for it, and that singer too!

IMG_5453.jpg

The tables are Bertrams tend to be a little too close together for my liking. While arising I almost accidentally bowled over the ‘disapproving' bloke sitting next to us with my arm.

I didn't notice as usual and was quite oblivious to my actions. @bingbabe, however, did see the glare I got from him. It's a shame the arm didn't connect, that's what you get for being an arsehole I say.


Restaurant Information


Bertram's Restaurant
score
Royle Lodge, M65, Burnley BB12 0RT, UK


Bertram's - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Be my Valentines ❤️


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I need to try to start ordering fish more when I got out. @mrsbozz doesn't care for it so much, but I enjoy it. I usually only get it when it is of the fried variety, but I like it other ways as well. That moktail was more expensive than your beer. That is kind of crazy assuming it had no alcohol in it! Nice review!

Its all about the fancy glass and decor I think with these moktails. You dont get very much either, and often shes drinking my coke as well as it.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 401 (02/15/19)

I wouldn't have a bad word to say about Betrams and I've been there many times and usually on special occassions. If it is busy you have to stand up next to the bar and the exit to the kitchen, which I don't like and I do agree the tables are close together. Sorry you had a bad experience with the other diners, probably jealous.

probably jealous.

There's so many racists fuckwits about still, I guess you dont see it but we do a lot.

Bertrams is an expensive place compartively speaking compared to others we have visited and I would say it's better than average.

Looks a real nice place that garlic bread sounds good but a pity with that ignorant bloke

I was thinking the same about the ignorant bloke next to you!
The plaice looked very nice and the garlic bread scrummy.
I've noticed that fish often is quite expensive.
Hope you had a nice evening :)

The bread was the best thing I ate there. The plaice is quite hard to see under all that 'other stuff' ;) This was actually 20/12/2018, you can see on the receipt. It was about time I wrote it up.

I know what you mean about "looks" since we're an interracial marriage as well. As you said, get over it people! And yes, too bad the elbow didn't connect, if he was going to go to the extreme of glaring at you. I think it would be strange to come in the afternoon and see people in their "spa gowns", lol.

We felt a little out of place with the 'gown crew', its probably best to get there in the evenings ;)

That place looks incredible. You must be big ballin. Sorry to hear about the racism. Sometimes it's just hard to get away from it.

It is quite chic, and being late I couldn't get any great shots of the outside. The racism.. my wife is filipina and we get this shit all the time.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.327 which ranks you at #2516 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Be my Valentines ❤️> Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 7.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30