Toronto Fried Chicken - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


On the face of it, Toronto Fried Chicken is just another one of those rip-off KFC franchises.

You see them in every town; Carolina Fried Chicken is another one I have seen but never tried through fear of being poisoned.

IMG_9192.jpg

KFC rip-offs don't have a great reputation in the UK and it was only @goblinknackers who wanted to give it a go, coupled with the fact that we were almost out of places to eat in the downtrodden town of Rochdale that I conceded.

IMG_9193.jpg

From the outside, it looks awful, especially from a distance due to all the shitty looking roadworks currently around the entrance.

Don't let this cloud your mind as you go inside.

IMG_9194.jpg

It is run by a bunch of Asian dudes and for the most part, the audience is the same. The menu, however, looks more like a KFC.

IMG_9189.jpg

They are going through some legal dispute and this regional franchise chain is changing their name.

I would say both names are comparatively unimaginative, but who am I to criticise?

IMG_9190.jpg

It was empty when we arrived, something that was going to change rather quickly. Toronto Fried Chicken is a popular place and for good reason.

IMG_9191.jpg

That’s @goblinknackers with his ever so shiny real plastic coat and an employee giving me serious daggers just to the right.

I’m just taking a photograph, not your soul mate!

IMG_9195.jpg

’they changed the name, but not the t-shirts. The old name was Dallas as you can probably figure out’

We generally get a take-out but today ate inside as it was Friday. I went for the Chicken Wrap with Chips, @goblinknackers the Chicken Burger.

Whatever you order in Toronto Fried Chicken, the guy with the Dallas t-shirt says the same thing.
Spicy?

Now full ‘spicy’ is about at the edge of my spicy limit, while it’s perfectly fine for @goblinknackers who has a greater tolerance than me.

I generally have, ‘a little bit spicy’ which they are more than willing to accommodate.

Without taking the piss out of Mr. Dallas' accent too much I have to say he does make me chuckle.

If anyone else comes in to order, all I hear is ‘Spicy’, and ‘Spicy’ followed by more ‘Spicy’ repeated in a thick Middle Eastern accent.

IMG_9198.jpg

We managed to get the last table, as the place was now full.

The word ‘Spicy’ had embedded itself firmly in my brain by this stage and I had to stop my gibbering self, repeating the word so I could eat my wrap which was well laden with Chicken and you guessed it,.. Spicy sauce.

IMG_9199.jpg

I have only ordered the Chicken Burger once as they are enormous. Even @goblinknackers was full after one of these.

You do get a decent amount of food for your money.

IMG_9196.jpg

Both the wrap and burger could be considered good, fresh cooked and filling.

IMG_9197.jpg

...'Slightly blurry image, apologies!'...

The chips seem to contain some secret fattening agent as I always struggle to finish them.

Like their meat counterparts, I would highly recommend them if you visit.

IMG_9200.jpg

’the place was rather full on leaving. @goblinknackers was doing his best trying to scare people off with Dracula impersonations, but failing’

A Chicken wrap meal with fries and a can of pop is £4.20.

A little cheaper than it's KFC or McDonald's counterparts, and I would say up to their standard or better.

IMG_9201.jpg

Like many of these dodgy looking fast good joints, Toronto Fried Chicken fills a gap when you are hungry.

I frequent it once a week, as the food is good, cheap and yes.. ‘Spicy’.

I get constantly reminded every time I walk through the doors.


Restaurant Information


Toronto Fried Chicken
score
2 Drake St, Rochdale OL16 1LU, UK


Toronto Fried Chicken - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Takeaway


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I'd much rather have spicy than KFC, we even have rip-offs here in my country;) Nice review @slobberchops!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh they are everywhere here, generally on the town fringe areas where the rent is cheaper, and usually in clumps of 3 or 4.

This one is quite central, and breaks the mold.

Well like Mr. Andrew Zimmern Says: "If It Looks good, eat It" @slobberchops :D

eat it.jpg

It was a gamble going in there, you don't know what your gonna get at times.. something that just tastes bad or worse, 3 days on the bog... I wont go into details!

I think the best fried chicken is in Korea haha

If I go there, I will give it a try!

You should! :)

Need more ‘jerk’ joints.
Respect

Posted using Partiko iOS

There's one in my local town. I haven't reviewed it yet but it's a local franchise. Will get around to it.. spicy reggae chicken!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 13.72% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Mmmmmm cheeeekeeeeeen

Your spoilt for choice being in the capital. See the places I'm forced to eat in?

Hahaha we have a chicken place on every street corner here 😭😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m looking forward to your review and post.
Can’t wait.
Respect

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am chuckling still at Dracula impersonations LOL and of course I have to ask did you mention spicy?

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Takeaway > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

This looks like a really tasty place. I wonder what made them choose Toronto for the new name. That isn't the fist thing I think of when I think fried chicken. Do they sell buckets of chicken? That is what KFC is known for.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder what made them choose Toronto for the new name.

Pick a random city perhaps? I would ask them, but they probably wont be able to answer the question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43