The Pendle Inn - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


It seems an age since we were eating at the Pendle Inn located in the tiny village of Barley, Lancashire but it was just a few weeks back.

IMG_7197.jpg

The day was hot and the place packed with tourists. After walking several miles we were rather ravenous and so ordered some drinks, or tried too.

IMG_7198.jpg

With the recent sugar tax, some places have stopped selling ‘fat’ coke.

Yes, the UK government has placed a tax on sugary drinks in an attempt to quell the drinking of them. Has it worked? Well not with me.

IMG_7199.jpg

‘*We don’t sell that’, said the barman quite roughly. It was Pepsi Max or nothing. I can’t stand that stuff so grabbed lemonade instead. He didn’t seem to like my quizzical look.

IMG_7200.jpg

Most of the diners eat in an extension added to the back of the old pub which is great in winter but miserable in summer when the heat beats down and boils the customers alive.

IMG_7205.jpg

We reluctantly sat down, but as you can see it wasn’t particularly popular and less than half full.

IMG_7207.jpg

IMG_7206.jpg

It’s been a while since we ate here but I do remember the Fish and Chips to be particularly decent so I ordered one at £12 and @bingbabe her favourite Cheese and Onion Pie at £11.

IMG_7202.jpg

We had a couple of friends with us, but I didn’t hassle them for food photographs and will leave their food out of this review besides what can be seen on the bill.

While waiting it was uncomfortable in there and I had to go to the restrooms THREE times to douse myself in cold water.

IMG_7217.jpg

Some fans would have been welcome or even open windows but only a couple were open and the closest one to us was jammed closed.

Perhaps they were trying to fry us or maybe the barman had taken a dislike to me for asking for requesting a ‘prohibited item’ and heat torture was to be our penance?

IMG_7213.jpg

The service was not quick which made things worse but after 30 minutes or so the food arrived.

IMG_7211.jpg

It was worth the wait and the fish is what I remembered it to be, fresh and crispy with equally nice chips, though a little mean on portion size.

IMG_7209.jpg

The Cheese and Onion Pie I hear was nice, but I didn’t get offered any so the photograph is all I can offer you.

IMG_7214.jpg

The Pendle Inn is good value and they forgot to add our drinks to the bill which made it so much better.

IMG_7196.jpg

Don’t you just love it when fate twists its wheel and gives you a little back for your discomfort?

IMG_7216.jpg

We will be back in the next few weeks but on a rainy cold day. You do learn your lessons the harsh way.


Restaurant Information


The Pendle Inn
score
Barley BB12 9JX, UK


The Pendle Inn - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I do love their sign and those fish and chips look so good, I dont think I have ever tried a cheese and onion pie it sounds very interesting

I cant recall pies being present in the US but feel free to correct me. I can only say that about the South West.

they are few and far between but some places have them but not as good as the pies from NZ or in your area for the most part
If you talk pie here people think you are meaning pizza

That is a pretty awesome surprise that they forgot to add the drinks. The friends that we usually eat out with are all pretty understanding of my Steem activity, so they don't really mind when I have to take pictures of everything. That is stupid about the sugar tax. I don't drink soda that much anymore, but I still think you should be able to if you want.

It happens occasionally that things are forgotten to be added to the bill. Do you not get the same there?

It is a pretty rare occurrence when it does happen.

I've heard that here it's common practice to take the price of "forgotten items" out of the server's wages. That may keep them from giving away "freebies" to their friends ... but it sure makes them double-check (no pun intended) before handing you the tab.

I love when they give me the bonus of free drinks! I would like to think they did it on purpose for baking you properly!

That fish and chips looked divine, although I would have liked a little more balance with the chips! But the fish looked absolutely crunch worthy! I await cooler temps to try back again.

No full up coke? Really?

As for the US and cheese and onion pie? I first found The English Pork Pie Company in New York the ships them. They had the Cheese and Onion, but, honestly, I have no trouble finding savory pies here, but in bigger cities and mostly on the East Coast. Savannah, GA has a really nice place that makes heavenly pies. Also, there is a British Pub in ST. Augustine near the Fort that made the best fish and (real chips!!!) chips here stateside. I have gotten a few in pubs in NYC and there is a place close enough to where I live called Pure Pasytu that is most excellent!!

We have quite a few, but. perhaps because I seek them out. :)

Awesome review yet again!

!tip

There seems to be more variety on the east coast that where I used to live (Phoenix). Long John Silver was the only fish place I remember and it was dire. One visit was enough for me!

One visit was enough for me!

No kidding!! It was perfectly awful -- for years. it's actually improved recently to the point The Weasel and I will go there. But for many years it was ghastly.

Forgetting the drinks makes up for being put in the oven perhaps. Still I would skip it.

Fish looks nice, but them chips were a bit stingy!
Shame about the too-hot environment.

them chips were a bit stingy

They were.., portion sizes are decreasing everywhere. Is this an attempt to make us lose weight? I don't think they are doing it for our benefit.. somehow!

Not just in restaurants. It's common practice here to "reduce portions" and keep the price the same. They've reduced the size and number of graham crackers per box. A previously 6 oz. can of tuna is now 5.5 oz. I find that deplorable, frankly.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 7.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

It is very nice to eat the restaurant's meal in beautiful surroundings.. my friend @slobberchops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46