Miller & Carter Steakhouse – Sunderland

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


I do love a good steak, and having visited this particular Miller & Carter Steakhouse several times I knew what to expect and it’s always good!

IMG_2425.JPG

So the brand is part of a chain, but not to the extent of McDonalds being on every corner street. In fact from where I live the closest one is 10 miles away, but this review is pertaining to a branch in the North East of England where I worked until very recently.

IMG_2426.JPG

The exterior and my initial thoughts on the interior were, ‘Very American’. Having lived in the US for a time during the 90’s I am well acquainted with the style and looks of American Steakhouses.

IMG_2428.JPG

This was reinforced when I spotted ‘Mac and Cheese’ on the menu. To say the menu was heavily ‘meat driven’ would be an understatement! Every kind of Steak known to man seemed to be available.

IMG_2433.JPG

The restaurant was not particularly full, but my pictures show that it’s quite empty. Perhaps it was due to the mid-week day we chose to visit.

IMG_2432.JPG

I ordered the 12oz RibEye as usual cooked to medium. I like the meat to contain a little fat to enhance the flavour.

For the price of £21.50 you get chips and a sauce of your choice. None of this ‘sauces are extra cost’ here!

IMG_2431.JPG

The 'Beef dripping' is wonderful and full of flavour, though it may well contrubute to an early grave if consumed in volume.

IMG_2429.JPG

They also give you a lettuce which seemed a little strange on my first visit, but I now love this idea. It’s not a plain boring lettuce, but is covered in blue cheese and blue cheese sauce, other 'flavours' are available.

Eat a piece of meat and than try some lettuce with that sauce; its really refreshing and different.

You also get some other additional pieces, such as tomato and a fried onion, all very nice and fresh.

IMG_2427.JPG

I haven’t had a bad steak from Miller & Carter Steakhouse as of yet. They are always cooked to perfection, taste lovely and succulent, and hit the mark very well.

This goes for the chips too, they are well cooked, not burnt and they give you plenty.

IMG_2434.JPG

However like all places, the first time is the best. Don’t go too often or subsequent visits just won’t be as good as the last time.

I have eaten when it’s been so full we have had to wait, and other times when it’s almost empty like on this occasion.

IMG_2435.JPG

Miller & Carter Steakhouses are a place to visit if you like your steaks. It’s certainly not a cheap meal, but you do get what you pay for.

The service is as good as the food and they don’t make you wait too long.


Restaurant Information


Miller and Carter Steakhouse
score
Sunderland, UK


Miller & Carter Steakhouse – Sunderland
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation
hello i'm tasteem supporter @jinuking. i'm struck with high quality @slobberchops posting so tasteem give special present to you. tasteem look forward to your wonderful posting in the future.

Nice write up! I think they call that kind of salad a wedge. In the US they usually put bacon on it I think. Because you know, America. I am not a huge fan of Blu Cheese, so I usually skip them. That is awesome that the meat is aged for 50 days. I bet it is fantastic!

Its a go back place for sure, I have been around 4 times now.

Love me a good steak! There are a few decent places around here. I actually love to grill myself and I’m really starting to slowly get back into that. Now I’m hungry...

@slobberchops If I am ever in England, I am going to definitely eat here at least once. Those photos made me drool and we both apparently appreciate a good steak cooked to medium.

There's many dotted around the country, I don't know if they are all of the same quality.

I won't be able to travel anywhere any time soon, but I will look into this place if/ when I can. Thanks for a great write up.

superb restaurant and a very complete menu, surely this restaurant has many migrants from outside or people at the thank you place.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88