Going to Lincoln for a blind date

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Personally I think, if you're going for a blind date small and cozy places are the best so you can get to know your date better. Let me introduce you to a restaurant in Lincoln, UK called Browns Restaurant and Pie Shop which is the perfect venue for this.
DSC_0281.JPG

Lincoln is a lovely city in the north east of England and after dinner you can take your date for a walk around. The cathedral and castle are two famous landmarks which are very famous in Lincoln and England. I am sure he/she will love it.
DSC_0285.JPG

As you can see the outside of the restaurant is fairly old and quaint. The inside is also quite small, like all old buildings in England used to be like. There aren't many tables here and they are all cobbled together quite closely. If you look at the photos of my dishes further down, you'll see that they are literally placed on the edge of the table, that's how small the place and tables are.
DSC_0278.JPG

DSC_0277.JPG

I heard that this place is very busy especially on weekends and I was in town on a Sunday with no reservations. So I made sure I came along as soon as they were opened. We were quickly shown to our table. The menu was ready waiting for me on table, and another bigger one was on the board hung up on the wall.
DSC_0275.JPG

I didn't take a photo of the inside of the menu, so this photo of Browns Pie Shop is courtesy of TripAdvisor

Let me show you what we ordered. With pies being the most famous dish, we had to order at least one, the Browns Pie of the Day. My wife said the pie crust was lovely and crunchy, not too thick which was perfect after you pour the gravy on. She choose the classic steak and kidney pie. That's always a winner with everyone.
P_20180211_124403_vHDR_On.jpg

I ordered the Sunday special roast pork, which isn't on the normal menu. You have to have a Sunday roast on a Sunday! That was good as well, not the best I've had, but not bad either. The two strips of crackling were very nice.
P_20180211_124353_vHDR_On.jpg

And then there were veg to go with our dishes. This portion is for the two of us to share.
P_20180211_124411_vHDR_On.jpg

And to top it off, my wife ordered her favourite chocolate dessert. She always does that as she loves desserts, particularly anything with chocolate.
P_20180211_131635_vHDR_On.jpg

The building of this restaurant is believed to date back to the 17th century when it used to be a pub called the Fox and Hounds. It is located on a steep hill called .... Steep Hill. You can see how steep it is from my first photo. Luckily it is located near the top of the hill very near to the castle and cathedral, so you don't have to walk far after dinner if you want to pay it a visit.
DSC_0440.JPG

Unless stated, all photos are taken by myself.


Restaurant Information


Browns Restaurant and Pie Shop
score
33 Steep Hill, Lincoln LN2 1LU, UK


Going to Lincoln for a blind date
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Where to eat for my blind date?


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

[tasteem supporter]

#tasteem-curation

Hi. Nice review of another great restaurant. Thanks for showing us the great food and its great to know there is such a nice cathedral close by to take your date around before or after the meal!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Where to eat for my blind date?> Contest . Thanks to @sinochip, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Love the place. Small but cozy, just a perfect place to bring your date.

You're right, it is!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64