Having Street Food Dinner at Jinggo Baper

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Few days ago, I went out with my family on an evening. We stopped at a local little food stall to get our dinner. It's called Jinggo Baper.

Jinggo means little portion of food (usually rice). Baper is a term which is popular among the young people which means being sensitive. So, obviously the little rice stall cater mainly for young customers.

IMG_1024.jpg
I must say I really like the slogan! Eat Your Jinggo Not Your Friends

It was just a simple local food stall situated by side of a street in Denpasar. I was hesitant when parking my motor cycle. Should we have dinner here? I thought. After all, it was street food, maybe it was not as delicious as proper restaurant.

But then something I saw, changed my mind. There were two young men in their early 20 serving customers. I thought not so many young people would do this kind of job, selling food by the street. They would prefer to hang out in cool places like cinemas. But these young men were willing to work here. So, I would like to support their business and had dinner there.

IMG_1029.jpg
These two young men run the food stall.

The stall was actually three tables place next to each other. The main table (the one which had roof) was where the seller put all the food on. The second table was for snacks and food that already packaged and ready to take away. The last table was just for putting the glasses and drinks.

IMG_1015.jpg
Choose from this table: noodles, shredded tuna, shredded chicken, chicken intestine (defintely not my favorite)

IMG_1011.jpg
Differet tastes sauces .

IMG_1022.jpg
The second table had food already packaged ready to take away.

When I looked into the main table, I could see all the food available there. Perusing through all the food on the table, I just mentioned and pointed to what I'd like to have. Then the seller took my selection for me. Before taking any other choice of dish, the seller a plate of steamed rice. Rice is our staple food, so every meal would start with rice.

But I refused the rice politely because I did not want to have rice that evening. I chose tofu satay, shredded tuna, noodle, spicy calamari, mixed vegetables and some extra sauce.

For drink, you could have hot tea, ice tea and just mineral water. But, just mineral water for me, please.

IMG_1016.jpg
Here is my meal!

IMG_1018.jpg
Here is my meal in closer look.

There were no chairs in the stall. Only little tables and red carpet. We sit down cross-legged on the carpet in front of our little short table having our dinner.

IMG_1044.jpg
This was the food stall and red carpet behind where people eat their dinner.

The food taste was quite spicy, which was good for me. I like spicy food. And in term of portion, I had a small portion. This was why it was called jinggo. Still if people would like to have bigger portion, they could just say they want big portion .

It was a different experience sitting down by the street to have our dinner. But we had a good time. And for this 4 plates of dinner we paid 43,000 rupiah or about slightly over USD 3.


Restaurant Information


Jinggo Baper
score
Jl. Tukad Pakerisan 99X, Panjer, Kec. Denpasar Sel., Kota Denpasar, Bali 80225, Indonesia


Having Street Food Dinner at Jinggo Baper
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Street Food


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Please do not use multiple account on Tasteem.

Thanks,

#tasteem-hide3

Sorry, I do not realize there is that rule.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Street Food> Contest . Thanks to @putu300id, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89