Some yummy Urojo (Zanzibar Mix) Soup at Forodhani Market

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

I hope this one counts, it's not a restuarant per say, but it's a market, and a really good one at that.


My first few months on the Island I volunteered at a music Academy in Stone Town, Zanzibar called Dhow Countries Music Academy. (or DCMA for short)

Whilest doing my classes there once a week we would go out after and explore the town. We visited many markets, local restaurants and street vendours. Something I have always wanted to try was the Urojo soup or also known as Zanzibar mix. It's a spicy coconut soup filled with all sorts of goodies.

My friend who was also volunteering and living in Stone Town said that she knew the place to go for it and so we found Forodhani Market. Packed with all sorts of food and snacks it was foodie heaven and when I saw the prices it was even better. See below some of the packed tables. (Sorry for the dark photos I was still busy and I still am busy getting the hang of my camera.


IMG_2168.jpg


However, my mission was clear and I headed off to get my soup! My friend said that she knew just the lady to get it from and as we arrived I got so excited I may or may not have started running and jumping...


IMG_2151.jpg


Finally it was in my hands and at only 3000 TSH it was unbelievable. (about $1.3 USD). This one was the full option that included the base (Spicy Coconut Soup), then filled with a cooked egg, veg salad, chicken, beef and noodles. (Similar to Ramen)

The flavours were beatiful and the only bad thing I could say about this dish is that being on the "Spice Island" I thought it would be a lot more potent? Almost similar to an Asian style, but none the less it was very tasty and I would recommend it to everyone to try coming to Zanzibar and I would definitely and have already, go for more.

To end it off we thought we might try the "Zanzibar Pizza". It's really more of a dough/egg omelet but really yummy and we had it filled with Nutella and Banana (Maybe not the most traditional Zanzibar Pizza but still yummy). Check out these shots of some of the development. One thing I like about the markets is that you see all the food being prepared.


IMG_2156.jpg

IMG_2158.jpg

IMG_2167.jpg

IMG_2176.jpg


HMmmmmm it came out so yummy, definitely one to share though as it is really sweet, but so worth it!!!

So some yummy Urojo soup to set the tone and a sweet Zanzibar Pizza for desert and smiles all round. A good Stone Town day indeed, hope you enjoyed it. Have you ever tried any Zanzibar food, if so what and what was your take?


Restaurant Information


Forodhani Food Market
score
Zanzibar, Tanzania


Some yummy Urojo (Zanzibar Mix) Soup at Forodhani Market
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Local Dishes


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I like the look of that Zanzibar Pizza... Bet I could do one on my own, I'm a bit of sweet tooth.

Hehehe , you are welcome to try, but know you have been warned.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Local Dishes> Contest . Thanks to @p1eter, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Looks Delicious!!!!

Thanks it was indeed!

Very cool good from Zanzibar. Thanks for sharing

I soo wanna try that pizza! I bet it was good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43